Does therapy end?

25 Aug

As you all know, I see a therapist. How often I see her depends on what’s going on in my life. Sometimes it’s every week, sometimes it’s once a month.

nuts
(I don’t think that ever happened.)

I saw her a few days after I moved. There were a lot of transitions going on then that I was nervous about. We scheduled a time for a few weeks after that, which I had to cancel. We rescheduled, and then she had to cancel. I saw her Saturday, which was about 6 weeks after I last saw her. Before my appointment, I was thinking what I wanted to talk to her about. And I realized – I didn’t have much to go over.

So we talked on Saturday about that. To her, it’s a good sign when patients start forgetting appointments or don’t have much to say. Almost every situation I talked to her about ended with “so I did this and this and it got better”. I have tools. I’ve learned that there are situations (like MOVING) that make me stressed and anxious, but I know how to get through them. There haven’t been any new situations or issues that I’ve really needed her guidance for a while.

But I know there will be. And I believe that everyone really could do therapy forever. The danger though is that therapy becomes a crutch, and a person doesn’t really learn how to with things on their own.

So does therapy end?

We decided yes, kinda. Because I don’t have much to say lately, I have and use good tools and self-talk for coping with situations, and I don’t want to give up my Saturday mornings, we decided to stop the regular schedule appointments. Well, I wasn’t entirely comfortable with that, so we’re going with every two months for now. (Of course, I can still call her and go see her if I need to in the meantime.)

But overall, it made me feel good. I’ve come a long way in the last 8-9 years. (Which is how long I’ve been seeing her.) I’m MUCH less anxious than I was when I starting seeing her. (For those of you who have met me in the last 5 years, you have no idea – this is less anxious!) I’m luckily to have found a therapist I really connect with. And I’ve worked hard to learn these new skills and tools to be able to cope. So YAY ME!

One Response to “Does therapy end?”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Four days of positives | The Reinvented Lass - August 26, 2014

    […] therapy appointment for a […]

Have a comment? Let me know your thoughts!

