Tough week = yoga

20 Aug

This week has been tough so far. Apparently the universe hates me this week. Or my biorhythms are just way off. Who knows. But I decided to do a bit of yoga when I got home to try and clear the brain and body.

I have a subscription to YogaGlo which is awesome. yoga galSo many videos to choose from, so many ways to filter. I chose a basic one for 30 minutes that focused on stress reduction. I’ve used yoga before for that and it’s always worked well for me. I haven’t been in a habit of it for the last year or so. I’m hoping to focus on getting back into it after I get running on a regular basis again. (One step at a time!)

A strange thing happened when I started it today. It sounds weird (although not if you do yoga)…I felt the energy moving. I felt it going into places in my body that have just been closed off and tense. I felt my breathing deepen – far deeper than it has been in a while.

And it’s made me realize a few things. One, yoga really helps me. Even 30 minutes helps me. And two, boy have I been stressed. You’d think running would beat a lot of that out of me but apparently not yet. So I think this weekend, I’m going make a list (yay lists!): what am I so stressed about? And what can I do each day to help counter that?

Besides cocktails, of course. πŸ˜‰

manhattan-cocktail

5 Responses to “Tough week = yoga”

  1. stephaniepolus August 20, 2014 at 11:55 pm #

    I second the “yay, lists!” sentiment (you know me). “Brain dumps” have been my best friend lately – just getting distracting thoughts (when I’m trying to work, or sleep) out of my head and on paper (or iPhone notes) keeps me sane. πŸ™‚

    • The Reinvented Lass August 21, 2014 at 6:07 am #

      Totally! Sometimes my brain gets overwhelmed with all the thoughts floating around in it.

  2. stephaniepolus August 20, 2014 at 11:57 pm #

    Also, I know where your head might go for alternate meanings of “brain dump.” Wrangle that adolescent thought, or just laugh along with me. πŸ˜‰

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A week so bad, you can only laugh | The Reinvented Lass - August 24, 2014

    […] *Tuesday, I could look over my shoulder, but my neck and shoulders were so tight, they hurt. So I got a massage (first one in probably five years) thinking that would loosen me up. It didn’t. So I was cranky that I spent that money without it helping. (Although yoga helped a bit.) […]

Have a comment? Let me know your thoughts!

