We all have that one thing…

5 Aug

We all have that one thing. You know, the thing we’re totally vain about? The one thing about ourselves that we love? Yeah, you know what I’m talking about. For me, it’s my hair. It’s not GREAT hair – no hair modeling pictures or anything. But I have thick hair. That’s what most people comment on – that and the color but we’ll get to that. And for the thickness, that’s just good old genetics at work. But I get a lot of compliments on my hair – always have – and recently lots of people have been asking about my hair care routine. So here are my tips for hair aka what I do about my hair.

1. Get a good stylist. I go to Jennifer at Mezzanine Salon. She is fantastic! She knows me, she knows what I like, what I’ll put up with, how far to push me in changes…absolutely the best stylist I’ve ever had. She’s the one who convinced me that going brunette (from my natural color with blond highlights which is what I had) would look great. (My natural color is a dirty dishwater blond. I think? It’s been a while since I’ve seen it.) She’s been good at making small, palatable changes with my hair. And finally in January I realized that her changes were always good even if I was skeptical at first. (Because I’m proud of my hair and draw a lot of confidence from it, I’m always hesitant to change it.) And I trust her completely. So I let her know that the next cut and color were up to her. I had complete faith in whatever she thought was best. So we talked about it and in February, she cut off 6 inches and added red to the brunette. I love it! Since then, because then she was still a little nervous about how I’d take a major change like that, she’s added more red each time I color and some blond highlights that look better than they sound. So, bottom line…find a stylist you love and who understands you and your likes/wants.

You know how I’ve talked about how important it is to talk to your dance teacher? Same thing here…talk to your stylist. Jennifer lets me ask a ton of questions – what does this product do, how do I style that, I have this problem when drying my hair…it’s great. I try to tip well to compensate for all my questions.

2. Invest is good styling tools. I use a $20 hairdryer from Target, but I bought a professional grade flat iron and curling iron. Regular Target-type flat irons and curling irons just can’t compete with the thickness.

3. Use good product. Haircare is the one place I won’t go cheap; I buy salon brands. And after using salon brands for about 6 years, I can see a difference in my hair. It used to be big and kinda frizzy; I had to use a flat iron every day to try and tame it. (Not like 80s mall hair big – just poofy due to the thickness.) I’m a big believer in Bumble & Bumble products. They work for me and my hair.

4. Don’t wash your hair every day. Even the idea of that one was super hard for me to get used to. Until I went brunette and realized my color will last longer (and therefore I wouldn’t need to color as often) if I didn’t wash it every day. I wash it about every three days give or take. Except I do wash my bangs every day unless I’m pulling them back completely. They get greasy gross if I don’t.

So my routine…

*wash hair (B&B thickening shampoo – it’s not really to thicken my hair, it just means it’s not as heavy as others)

*use conditioner (B&B Super Rich conditioner – lots of moisture)

*spray on B&B Tonic

*rub two pumps of Moroccan Oil into the ends

*dry completely (or almost completely – it takes about 15 minutes to dry my hair completely so sometimes (often?) I get lazy and stop at “dry enough”).

*use flat iron.

*spray bangs with hairspray (B&B blue can)

On the non-wash days, I curl it with a curling iron to get some body and bounce and to hide the dirtiness. And on day three, it’s usually a ponytail or a bun.

Once a week I do a hair mask. I got out of that habit in the last year or so, because it’s awkward to live with someone and walk about in a hair mask. Brings the vanity to the forefront. Especially awkward when the person you’re living with has no hair due to cancer. I used to use the B&B Quenching Masque. But it got expensive for me (I have to use a lot due to the thickness of my hair). So I started using coconut oil, which works almost better. Wash hair but leave out conditioner, rub about 3 tablespoons into the ends, wrap in a towel, let sit for 30-120 minutes. I leave it almost two hours. I usually just watch a movie while I’m waiting. Then wash as normal.

So there you go! For those of you who have asked, that’s what I do. And I am by NO MEANS an expert. I just have listened and learned over the last six years. So now I sound like I know what I’m doing.

(And did any of us ever think we’d see the day where I was talking about something about myself I’m proud of??? Oh how far we’ve come…)

One Response to “We all have that one thing…”

  1. Marian Condon August 5, 2014 at 10:52 am #

    Thanks, Lass! I have very fine hair, but am going to try the coconut oil masque. I want a lot of shine.

Have a comment? Let me know your thoughts!

