Down with the flu

25 Feb

Remember I said I got a cold last week? Wednesday night, I got a sore throat. Thursday, I was a bit stuffy and kinda achy. Friday I went to work but left at noon because I wasn’t feeling well. When I got home, I took my temperature and had a fever of almost 100.

Over the weekend, I cancelled all my plans, including my dance lessons. (That was tough.) Saturday, my fever got to over 101. Other than going to the grocery store and paying a bill, I literally did not move off the couch the whole weekend.

the-flu

Which would normally tough for me. But I didn’t mind it all, which tells you how crappy I felt.

Yesterday morning, my fever had broken and was normal, so I went to work. I decided to try and see my doctor or go to urgent care if he wasn’t available. Luckily, he had an opening in his schedule, so I went to see him.

Turns out my cold was the flu. Still is, actually. He told me that while he wouldn’t tell me I had to stay home or I’d die, his preference was that I go home and not go to work again until Thursday at least. He’s worried about it turning into pneumonia, strep, or a staff infection. So I’m not contagious, but I’m susceptible to other germs right now.

So I’m home today. On my couch. Thank god for Netflix and Hulu! I watched the whole “The Borgias” series over the weekend (which was really good). Today I started season two of “House of Cards”. Which is really good. Especially the plot twist in the first episode – WHAT WAS THAT.

I’m not antsy yet, which tells me I’m still not anywhere near 100%. The downside is that I’ve had to cancel a bunch of dance lessons, so I haven’t had one since February 12 other than one exchange lesson last week. Two weeks without a lesson with my teacher. And two weeks of no parties or group classes. I miss it.

But I need to get well. I need to not go to dance so I get better faster. I need to be careful about how much I work so I don’t overdo it. Because being sick really gets in the way of living my life.

One Response to “Down with the flu”

  1. www.someoneelsesshoesblog.com February 25, 2014 at 1:15 pm #

    hope you feel better soon!

Have a comment? Let me know your thoughts!

