Olympic glory

18 Feb

I love the Olympics.

sochi_logo

Especially the winter games. I mean, there’s HOCKEY.

mens_hockey

(side note: my friend B has a great list of Olympic boyfriends. You should go check it out! And keep an eye out for her boyfriend bracket. The annual contest that people get very passionate about.)

And now there’s (almost) ballroom dancing.

ice_dancing

But I found out this year…it’s a lot more interesting and fun when you have someone to cheer for.

The brother of my good friend ND was on the US men’s skeleton team. And ND did a great job keeping people informed on when and where to watch the runs. So many people were cheering so hard! I’ve only met Matt once, but it still felt like I was cheering for someone I knew. And when he won the BRONZE MEDAL…

matt_bronze

…yeah, I got a little teary-eyed. Because even though I hardly know him, I’ve heard so much about his journey from ND. It just made it a little more real and less something you watch. It made the Olympics an actual event to me and not just a TV show. I’m so glad I got an Olympic experience like that.

2 Responses to “Olympic glory”

  1. Robyn C. February 23, 2014 at 11:17 am #

    I agree – made it even more exciting! And I loved seeing the behind-the-scenes updates.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Chicago outings | The Reinvented Lass - February 22, 2014

    […] morning, we just hung out and watch the Olympics. Then we went to lunch at a pizza and pasta place that I can’t remember the name of. Oh well. […]

Have a comment? Let me know your thoughts!

