The soundtrack of my life

24 Oct

Music is important to me.

music

I started playing piano when I was about four, then added clarinet in fifth grade. I stopped piano lessons after seventh grade, but I kept playing the clarinet all through college – I was in the marching band in college.

I’ve mentioned before that I grew up in a house that used TV as background noise. I do that too, but in recent years, I’ve tried to deliberately use music instead. And I’ve always had music on at my desk at work.

The beauty of today’s world is that there are so many options of how to get your music. There’s the radio, of course; I listen to the Current mostly. And I have my iPod, which has all my music on it. I don’t have a lot of playlists though. But I have one for working out – it’s full of up-tempo songs that keep me going. I can’t use it when running though. If I listen to music while running, I run to the tempo of the music which screws up my pace. And I haven’t taken the time to figure out what tempo I want to run at and find songs at that tempo. My other playlist is one that I call “Uppers”. It’s full of songs that either remind me of a really happy time in my life or make me laugh and smile. I love that playlist.

But thanks for technology-savvy friends, I’ve discovered other ways to get my music. Such as Pandora. I think everyone’s heard of Pandora radio now. My stations are based on Mumford & Sons, Muse, Frank Sinatra/Bing Crosby, Buddy Holly, Beethoven/Bach/Brahms, and Diana Krall. Weird mix, right?

SP introduced me to Spotify. I like Spotify, but sometimes it’s hard for me to find what I want to listen to. Plus, you have to pay for the web-based version, and I won’t do that. I’m all about the free music.

Stereomood is a great one. You pick what mood you’re in, and it starts a playlist for that mood. “I feel…” and you fill in the blank. Waking up, cooking, rainy day, gangsta…lots of choices.

My absolute favorite right now, and one I use a lot at work, is Songza. KB introduced me to this one, and it’s great. You can pick a genre, an activity, a mood, or a decade, and then you choose a playlist from that. I have sixteen playlists marked as favorites now, and my favorite one for getting energy back is the “1980s Anger Management” playlist. I also have the “Beach Blanket Bingo” one, the “Cool Songs for Young Moms” one even though I don’t have kids, the “Martini Swing” one, the “Essential Waltzes” one, the “Today’s Happy Pop” one, and a bunch of others.

I usually have music always going. At home, I don’t as much, because I don’t impose my musical tastes (which don’t agree with everyone) on others. If I’m home alone, I turn on the radio or crank up the computer. It’s very weird for me to go too long without listening to some music. It feeds me.

And sometimes, I listen to podcasts. But that’s a story for a different day.

2 Responses to “The soundtrack of my life”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. If not music, then podcasts | The Reinvented Lass - October 26, 2013

    […] I told you about how I listen to music. And it’s all great, especially at work or cranked up at home. But in the car, I usually […]

  2. Weekly roundup | The Reinvented Lass - October 28, 2013

    […] you about the way I listen to music and the podcasts I listen […]

Have a comment? Let me know your thoughts!

