One of the hardest things I’ve ever done

1 Sep

On Wednesday, I did one of the hardest things I’ve ever done. My friend LS and I took our friend to her chemo treatment.

And that was so hard to sit through.

I had no idea what to expect. I mean, I knew it’d be tough. I just had no idea HOW tough. To see all these people getting the infusions, knowing that each one was fighting cancer. And to watch my friend sit through that and be able to see her energy get zapped from the drugs. I almost broke down about 3 times. But that day wasn’t about me, so I kept it in.

I can’t imagine the strength it takes to fight that. And to deal with the aftermath of it in terms of the physical and emotional reactions to the drugs. I don’t know if I would have that kind of strength. I’m sure a person finds it if they have to, but it would be so hard to fight for so long.

(This is where you see my petty side.) I don’t know if I would have the outpouring of support and encouragement that my friend has had. I’m so thankful she’s had that! But because I don’t reach out and connect with people like she does, I don’t know that I would have that. And on Wednesday, as she was sitting there and her phone was lighting up time and time again, I felt a bit envious. And then bad for feeling envious. I luckily avoided the thinky place about it. But it’s just a difference in personalities – I have a few friends because I’m shy and quiet, she has lots of friends because she’s so confidant and outgoing. I know the friends I do have would be supportive. I just sometimes get envious of people who have lots of friends. Or a core group of friends. But I’m thankful for the friends I do have!

End pettiness section.

So I pray often for my friend and her battle with cancer. Her prognosis is good. And we’ve become closer as a result of this, I think. Which is awesome because she means a lot to me. And I will go to any other chemo treatment or any procedure or doctor’s appointment she needs me to be at without any problem. I hope she knows that. And that she can ask for anything from me. Because I want to help her fight this and beat it!

Have a comment? Let me know your thoughts!

