Blogging challenge, day 16

17 Aug

August blogging challenge, day 16: A first – do something that you’ve never done before and share

When my parents downsized, my siblings and I went through some stuff they were going throw if we didn’t want it. I found two chairs that I had as a kid. I have vague memories of sitting in them and reading as a little kid. So I grabbed them with the intent of refinishing them. I stored them in the basement and promptly forgot about them.

This week, I was moving everything from the basement up to the apartment in preparation of moving. And I found the chairs. So I decided to refinish them before I moved. And I’ve never refinished furniture before, but how hard could it be?

I went to my local hardware store. They never make you feel stupid for asking dumb questions. They set me up with the right paint and gave me some tips on doing it. I went home and went to work.

Before…

chair-before
Of course, I forgot to take a before picture until one chair was all sanded.

I sat outside and sanded and sanded and sanded. An hour and a half later with two different grits, they were sanded down. Then I went inside and painted them with two coats. And I’m really happy with them!

chair-after

refinished-chairs

Now to decide who to give them to…

One Response to “Blogging challenge, day 16”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Weekly roundup: staycation edition | The Reinvented Lass - August 19, 2013

    […] refinished some toddler chairs I […]

Have a comment? Let me know your thoughts!

