Just go for it

14 Jul

Last night, my friend LS and I went to a non-Arthur Murray ballroom dance competition. We went for the Saturday evening portion which is the professional competition. I wasn’t sure what to expect but I had heard good things about the event. I wanted to go to see what it was like, but I also wanted to go to see my friend KB and her husband compete. They’re professional ballroom dancers, and I’ve never seen them dance. Plus, it’s always great to watch any pro couple dance.

In listening to people around us, it seems like it’s a Dance-O-Rama for anyone. The Dance-O-Ramas are just for Arthur Murray students. This competition seemed like the same thing but for anyone from any studio. Which is cool.

And it was so great! KB and GB were so fantastic! And all the pro couples were amazing to watch. Jaw-dropping at times. I always learn watching pros. I tend to watch for styling, and there is always a lot of things to pick up. It does make you realize you’ll never be that good, and you’ll never dance as well as you would like to. But it gives you something to strive for. And isn’t dance about just trying to the best you can be?

But the one thing that really struck me was how the pros just go for it. Nothing is done halfway, everything is done 100%. And while I’m a good dancer, I KNOW there are places that I don’t go 100%. Things like arm styling. And moving my hips. I’m subconsciously worried, I think, that I’ll look stupid if I try to do it. But I think it probably looks more stupid to do it halfway. So I’m going to try to remember this every time I dance. In particular, in the beginning of my Viennese waltz open, in the wiggle moment of my rumba open, and in rhythm dances.

Watching pros dance also motivates me. I want to be in the best shape I can be so I can be a good dancer. Hence my 30-minute run today. (OK, it was intervals, I’m still not up to doing full runs. But it still counts, right?) But it also motivates me to just dance the best I can and not hold myself back.

New rule: Just go for it. If it doesn’t work, my teacher can fix it. And it’s better to try with enthusiasm than to not try.

3 Responses to “Just go for it”

  1. Marsha July 14, 2013 at 3:19 pm #

    Fun to see you there!!! glad you enjoyed it. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Weekly roundup | The Reinvented Lass - July 15, 2013

    […] *Went to a ballroom dance competition. My very first non-Arthur Murray one. And really enjoyed it. And decided to just go for it. […]

Have a comment? Let me know your thoughts!

