Did ya miss me?

8 Jun

It’s been a rough few weeks. The healing of my foot really got to me – I didn’t want to do anything. I didn’t write, I barely read, I didn’t bake…I was a mess. My spirits seemed OK; I just got lazy and had no energy. I had surgery on my right wrist to remove a cyst, and that made things worse. Suddenly I couldn’t use my right arm for much. It slowly got better, and I now can use it for some things.

But my cast comes off Monday! I saw the doctor last week, and he was impressed with how quickly it’s been healing. So he said that I could start taking the cast off in the evenings when I’m home this week, and Monday I can stop wearing it all together. And the stitches and the bandage come off my arm Tuesday! So by Wednesday, I’ll be starting to get back on track and working towards getting both to 100%.

And then the following week, I can start to ease back into dancing and running! So my first lesson back will be June 19. I’m so excited. I made a little countdown clock on the side here; do you see it? I can’t wait to start dancing again. And I know I won’t be where I was when I broke my foot, but I don’t think it’ll take me long to get back there. My teacher has a good plan for going slowly, so that will help.

Oh man, there’s light at the end of the tunnel. In 4 days, I’ll be cast-free and bandage-free. In a little over a week, I’ll be back at the gym slowly starting to run again. In a little under two weeks, I’ll be dancing again.

It’s been a long 6 weeks. I’ve learned a lot by having to adjust to not working out and not dancing. I’ve learned I can live without dancing, but I don’t want to. I’ve learned how important working out is to me. I’ve gained a few pounds, but I’m hoping those will come off quickly once I start running again.

Because I maybe appreciate dancing more now, I’m going to try and go back with a little bit better attitude. I’m going to try to be more positive and not get so frustrated with myself as much.

I’m going to just enjoy dancing and running. And appreciate that I can do it.

One Response to “Did ya miss me?”

  1. loveablestef June 8, 2013 at 8:05 am #

    Yes I missed you! Welcome back! Love the lessons learned! Of course I agree, life is better with dancing!

Have a comment? Let me know your thoughts!

