Showcase without dancing

21 May

Sunday was Showcase.

As we all know, Showcase is my two favorite days of the year. I love that day. I absolutely love performing, and Showcase is when I let it all go and just enjoy it. At Showcase, I KNOW and BELIEVE that I’m an excellent dancer. The other 363 days of the year, I kinda know and believe.

But I broke my foot. So I couldn’t dance at Showcase. I thought long and hard about it. Should I still go and cheer on my friends? Or would it be just too difficult to go and not dance at all? I decided that it’d be worse to not go and be completely left out. So I went.

This Showcase, there were so many people participating that they had to start 2 hours earlier than normal. Which meant for a super long day. So I had to develop some strategies. What if I got tired? What if I got completely overwhelmed? Showcase is held at a hotel, so I decided that if I totally needed a break, I could go to the hotel bar and just chill, maybe watch the NHL hockey game. I brought my knitting in case I got tired just sitting there. I brought snacks. And I decided that I would be there for others and not for myself. I also deliberately had very low expectations of the staff. I knew that they would be very busy and focused on their students that were dancing, so I didn’t think any of them would realize how tough of a day that was for me.

When I got there, I let my friends know that if they needed help getting in and out of their dresses to just let me know. I would be everyone’s personal assistant. I told some of the staff that too. I videotaped some performances for a friend of mine. I got a Diet Coke for my friend MK when she needed it.

And I was so surprised by my friends. I guess I assumed they’d be like the staff and worried about themselves. But so many of them came up to me and checked in with me throughout the day. LS, SH, MK, CS, KB, CK…they all took time to make sure I was OK. They knew how hard it was for me.

And the staff….oh, our wonderful staff. Some of them checked in with me once or twice. My teacher, who I think usually has the most students participating, started the day by giving me a huge hug and letting me know that he was sad I wasn’t dancing. And he did little things to acknowledge me and the difficulty I was facing a few times throughout the day. Once again proving how awesome he is and how lucky I am to have him as my teacher.

So the day actually went quicker than I had thought, and I had a lot more fun than I was anticipating. I only had one breakdown where I started crying, and that was during the Bronze III and Bronze IV open freestyles. Luckily, my awesome friends were there for me during that. On the plus side too, it’s a hell of a lot easier to go to the bathroom in regular jeans than in a ballgown!

But then the dinner came. And the dinner is followed by social dancing. I was nervous for that…how would it be to sit there while my whole table was out on the floor? Plus, my teacher gives cards to every student of his who participated that day. The card is usually waiting at your spot at the dinner table. I didn’t participate, so how would it feel to not get a card?

Again, my teacher surprised me by having a card for me that had very nice things in it. I was touched by that. And MK, SP and CS were at my table, and none of them were out on the floor all at once. So I actually had probably the funnest Showcase dinner I’ve ever had.

And I danced! Shhhhhh, don’t tell my doctor. I just felt that I couldn’t go all the way through Showcase without one dance. So I told my teacher that if a slow rumba came on and he’d be OK dancing basics with me, I’d give it a whirl. So a bolero came on, to which you can do a very slow rumba. So we did! And it went OK. My teacher was laughing because I had really good Cuban motion on one side of my body. I think our studio owner got a picture of me dancing with my cast on, but I don’t have a copy yet. Oh well. It felt so good to be dancing, even if it was only one slow rumba. And I kinda proved to myself that I haven’t forgotten and won’t forget everything about dancing. I’ll just need to get strength back in my ankle.

So overall, it was a great day. I’m still sad I didn’t get to dance, but I know I’ll be back for November’s Showcase. And I’m determined to rock that day.

Here are some pictures of my some of my awesome friends in their sparkly dresses…

photo 3
KB, SH, LS, JT…a bit blurry

photo 1

SH, LS, and KB

photo 4

MS and CS

These are just a few of the amazing friends I have that helped me get through that day. They are the best. And they made Showcase a heck of a lot better than it easily could have been.

8 Responses to “Showcase without dancing”

  1. Marsha May 21, 2013 at 9:22 pm #

    Oh-mi-gosh, thank you for the pictures! I am so glad you went to the showcase and better yet, managed to enjoy yourself. BRAVO!!!

  2. loveablestef May 22, 2013 at 2:10 am #

    Yay! I am glad you went and that it was such a success!!!

  3. Robyn C. May 23, 2013 at 9:57 am #

    I a SO PROUD of YOU!!! What a brave and selfless thing to do! I bet your friends, teacher, and all the staff and other dancers were VERY happy to have you there. It would have been easy to simply stay home and wallow – but you chose to put yourself out there and then offer to assist others. Sounds like you had a good time – well done and very classy!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. What I did on my summer vacation | The Reinvented Lass - June 12, 2013

    […] watched Sunday night PBS with MH. I saw “The Great Gatsby” with my book club. I went to Showcase. I had coffee with […]

  2. It didn’t get better | The Reinvented Lass - November 27, 2013

    […] home from work Friday. And I realized that morning that some of this anxiety was due to Showcase. I missed the last Showcase because of my broken foot. And apparently I had some doubts about whether I was good enough, about […]

Have a comment? Let me know your thoughts!

