Medical ups and downs

30 Apr

Anyone else seen the musical “Mame” or the play “Auntie Mame”? mameRemember Patrick’s girlfriend’s parents’ home was called Upson Downs? No? Just me? OK then…

The good news…I don’t have breast cancer. Got your attention, didn’t I? The radiologist found a spot on my mammogram (yes, I’m over 40) a few weeks ago, and they weren’t sure what it was. Tumor? Cancer? Just really dense tissue? So I had to go back for a second mammogram and an ultrasound. That was yesterday. And it turned out to be just a small cyst that doesn’t need to be removed and I don’t need to do anything about it or worry about it in any way. Yay!

That has been on my mind for the last week and a half. I knew that chances were it was nothing. There’s no breast cancer in my family, the mammogram the year before was fine. But still…your mind goes to worse case scenario AND STAYS THERE. So I was trying not to freak out and over-worry.

Then the weekend happened.

And we had a beautiful weekend here in Minnesota after a lonnnggg winter. Highs in the 70s, lots of sunshine. I ran on Saturday, went for a 5-mile walk with some friends Saturday night, biked at the gym on Sunday morning. Sunday afternoon, I decided to haul my bike out of the basement and lock it up outside like I do for the summer. Just to be prepared for the next awesome weather day. So I did. And I turned my ankle on the stairs.

And broke my foot.

Did you catch that? I BROKE MY FOOT.

I went to urgent care and saw the doctor. Yep, it’s broken. He’s not an orthopedic doctor, but his best guess was 4 weeks before I’m mostly healed and an additional two weeks before I’m running and dancing again.

Again, did you catch that? No dancing for 4-6 weeks. And Showcase is 2 weeks from Sunday.

I’ll see the orthopedic doctor on Monday, and after that I should have a better idea of my recovery time. I’m guessing the urgent care doctor was being optimistic.

(For you doctors out there…it’s a proximal closed fracture of the fifth metatarsal bone. Whatever that means. Wait, is “proximal” describing the fracture or the bone? I dunno.)

The urgent care doctor put me in an orthopedic shoe and told me to ice it and rest it and elevate it. So at work, I have a chair next to me so I can keep it elevated. Stupid swelling. Yesterday, when I took my sock off at night, parts of my foot were a lovely shade of purple. I’ve never broken a bone before, so I had to ask the Google if that was normal. (Turns out, it is.) I also had to ask my brother if it was normal to be so EXHAUSTED from this. He said it was, that my body had gone through a trauma and was trying to heal itself.

My roommate has been awesome. She has the perfect mix of teasing me and helping me, which is exactly what I’d do to her. She warned the dogs that they better not step on my foot. She made me ice/heat packs that I can reuse. Tonight she made kettlecorn. So I’m incredibly thankful for that support.

I know that not having cancer should be giving me perspective. And maybe it will someday. But right now, all I can think about is no dancing and no working out.

And I get scared.

How fat will I get during that time? I’ll keep eating well, but without the cardio, will I gain weight? Will I lose all the momentum I had in working out?

How much will my dancing regress during that time? When I come back, will it just take me a few lessons to get back into it? Or will it be like almost starting over in Bronze III?

Will the people at the studio miss me? Will anyone notice I’m not there? Or when I come back, will they be like “oh you were gone?”

And I keep wondering why this had to happen. I’m a big believer in everything happens for a reason, but we may not know the reason until much later, if at all. So I’ve been trying to think about what purpose could this serve? Here’s what I have so far:

*It’ll prove to me how much dance means to me, but also that I can live without it.

*It’ll maybe prove to me that people really do miss me when I’m not around.

*Since I’ve already paid for Showcase, that money will just go towards the November Showcase. So I’ll be a little ahead on Showcases.

*If I make my May payment to the studio, I’ll get a bit ahead in terms of lessons on the books. Which will be nice.

*It’ll force me to slow down. If I’m not going to the studio every night, I’ll have some time to relax in the evenings. I can read, write, go for walks (eventually), or just hang out with friends.

But in the meantime, I won’t be dancing.

8 Responses to “Medical ups and downs”

  1. Marsha April 30, 2013 at 9:23 pm #

    OMG. I am so sorry! You have had quite a week. Hang in there, you can find things to do to stay active. I just watched the Dancing With the Stars clip about the dancer who lost her foot in the bombing. You will dance again. I can already hear you looking for the sugar and ice to make lemonade, and I know you will do it. Go to showcase and cheer on your friends. And I’ll come and see you dance in the fall!

    • The Reinvented Lass May 1, 2013 at 8:02 am #

      Thanks! I saw that clip too, and it does give me some perspective. Right now, I’m just stuck in the pool of self-pity. I’ll move out of it soon. I’m just going to try to make the best of the time away from the studio. 🙂

  2. Amy EliseJones April 30, 2013 at 9:53 pm #

    You can experiment with honey daiquiris;-). And you can still do some exercises without pressuring your foot– seated upper body strength training, abs, etc. follow doctors orders. I bet you will find the work you’ve been putting in will help your recovery progress mo smoothly and completely!

    • The Reinvented Lass May 1, 2013 at 8:00 am #

      Right! After I see the doctor on Monday, I’ll get back to the gym and start doing some strength training. I’m going to miss the cardio though! Thanks for the support. 🙂

  3. loveablestef May 1, 2013 at 12:55 am #

    Yay! And Boo! Ahhhh! Stupid life throwing curveballs like that…makes me just want to scream BALLS! At the top of my lungs…how dare you derail my plans, life?! And all we piddly little humans can do is scream about it, at least that is the way of it according to my high school English teacher when we studied Greek Tragedy….Anywhoooooo

    Proximal denotes relative location, not the type of fracture. Proximal means closer to the body, as opposed to distal, which is further from the body…like your elbow is proximal to your hand but distal to your shoulder. Your break is in the part of the bone closer to your trunk.

    Get better soon! I want pictures and a full report of your showcase in November since I will not be getting them in two weeks! I am bummed about that too!

    And good for you for finding the lessons/gifts in this situation. According to Louise Hay, the foot represents our understanding of ourselves, of life and of others, and a broken bone represents rebelling agains authority. Don’t know if you buy into that kind of stuff or if it fits but it is interesting to ponder, at least, and you were being all mature about seeing the glass half full and all, so I thought I’d mention it.

    Glad your roomie is taking good care of you. You deserve it!

    Sending healing thoughts, Stef

    • The Reinvented Lass May 1, 2013 at 8:05 am #

      Right? I was so excited for Showcase, and we were going to start working on checkout afterwards. Damn you, universe! Like I said, this clearly happened for a reason; I just need to figure out what the reason is.

      Intriguing about the rebelling against authority. I have to think about that.

      Totes! A full report on Showcase in November will be coming. And I want a full report on your upcoming comps.

      Thanks, Stef!

      Cathy xoxo

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Weekly roundup | The Reinvented Lass - May 7, 2013

    […] nothing. Oh wait, I broke my foot. And spend the rest of the week on the couch with my foot elevated to bring the swelling […]

  2. Healing is depressing | The Reinvented Lass - May 14, 2013

    […] we all know I broke my foot. And as far as breaks go, it’s not a bad break to have. It’ll heal in about six weeks […]

Have a comment? Let me know your thoughts!

