Other people’s dance

19 Apr

Remember my friend Stef? Like me, she’s trying to lose weight. She has a lot more than me to lose. Which helps me get perspective. I mean, I think I have a difficult thing in trying to lose 10 pounds? Sheesh. I admire her dedication to losing the weight she wants to lose. She inspires me.

Anyway, did you see her cha cha routine? Check it out:

Awesome, right? Amazing. She’s SUCH a good dancer.

I started watching this and was so proud of her. If you read her blog, you know the struggles she’s had with this cha cha routine, as we all have struggles with different parts of dance. And she did such a great job with it – regardless of her size! I really like how into the character she got.

Then I started thinking. And we all know how problematic that is. But I started thinking about what things she can do better than me and how much better than me she can move. And to be honest, how much better than me she can move especially considering her size. Petty, right? And then I started to feel bad for myself and started thinking how bad of a dancer I must be. And I felt bad for having such thoughts about her.

All that in about 30 seconds. SIGH.

So what did I do about it? What I usually do is think more about it. Over and over and over.

What did I do this time? Used self-talk to STOP THE THINKY PLACE.

Yes, she knows more moves than me and more technique. But she’s a more advanced dancer than me. And she’s certainly more expressive than I am in dance, but that’s something that I can learn from and grow towards. And there are things that I can do better than her.

But I also told myself that it’s not a competition. It’s a journey. She’s on her journey, and I’m on mine. For me, it’s about becoming a great amateur dancer, which I’m on the road to doing. And I’m happy with how I dance for the level I’m at. And I know I’ll get better.

And in the meantime, I can appreciate Stef, her journey, her ability, and her dancing. I can appreciate that we share a passion and that we both think dance is so important to our lives.

dancing

And I can cheer her on to be the best. Go Stef – you rock!

4 Responses to “Other people’s dance”

  1. loveablestef April 20, 2013 at 12:51 am #

    I love your honesty! And I totally know what you mean…all these thoughts swirling…all in 30 seonds ha ha ha. I have NO idea what you are talking about…. 😛 Thank you so much for being willing to share of yourself, your thoughts, and for connecting with me. I’m going to respond on my blog soon.

    My only question is how can I celebrate and support you in your journey, your process, your greatness, the hard parts, and the areas in which you shine? You mentioned that there are things you do better than me, but you didn’t list them or share them….why not?! Share them, so we can all also share in how awesome you are, your strengths, your specialness, your worthiness.

    Much love and respect my friend. My great, honest, auethentic, bold, fearless, friend.

    XOXO, The Shrinking Girl In The Ballroom 😉

    • The Reinvented Lass April 20, 2013 at 10:17 pm #

      Thanks for your comment! I know, it’s amazing how quickly the brain can work! 🙂 Thank YOU for being so courageous in your writing…you share so much of yourself; I admire that!

      Haha interesting point. I’m not good at tooting my own horn nor proclaiming what I do well. Partially because I’m from Minnesota – we’re a humble people here. But it’s mostly just my personality. I’m very much a stay-in-the-background kind of person. I used to be much more like that, but dancing pulled me out of the background.

      Challenge accepted! I will try to do more sharing of me and my dance journey. I think my turns are really good and so are my swivels. 🙂

      Love to you too!! xoxo Cathy

  2. loveablestef April 27, 2013 at 4:26 pm #

    Alright – I just posted my response. XOXO

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. It All Begins And Ends With Fat | Biggest Girl In The Ballroom - April 27, 2013

    […] it was with mixed feelings that I read this post from The Reinvented Lass.  I did the showcase Cha Cha and shared the video and it affected her.  […]

Have a comment? Let me know your thoughts!

