Focus on me

14 Apr

Before the holidays, I stopped focusing on food and exercise. OK let’s be honest – it was probably way before the holidays. But right before the holidays, I made a deliberate choice to not put a high priority on those areas. I still tried to follow my meal plan and to workout, but I was putting too much pressure on myself trying to meet my obligations in these areas. I became too concerned about what I “should” be doing, and that caused a lot of guilt. (Hello, Catholic upbringing!)

And I’ve done OK with working out. I’ve run a few 5Ks and have made it to the gym 1-2 times per week.

runner
I didn’t win. I’m just happy I finished them!

But I was noticing that my weight was creeping up. Not much, just 5 pounds. But since I was 5 pounds from my goal, I’m now 10 pounds from my goal. And I wasn’t worried because those 5 pounds were added over like 4 months.

I figured I needed to address those last 10 pounds, partially because if I just focused for a short period of time, I could really make a difference. I have one friend who’s lost about 40 pounds in just under a year through diet and exercise. I have another friend who is trying to lose a lot – maybe a 100? – pounds. If they can do it, what excuse do I have?

Plus, I have the motivation of wanting to be in the best shape possible as a dancer. I want to look good on the dance floor. I’ll never look THIN – I’m too curvy for that. But I want to look GOOD while I’m dancing. And being in great shape will help my dancing. That was my motivation for running and losing weight in the first place – dance.

I had worked with Kelly, an awesome nutritionist before. I love her approach – it’s not just about the number on the scale. For her, it’s what your body fat percentage is. For me, it’s that and how my clothes fit.

So I had a few sessions with Kelly on the books still. So I felt like it was time to focus on this again, so I met with her last Monday.

While I have gained weight, the good news is some of it was muscle mass. My body fat percentage went up only about 1%. Yes! Kelly said if I focus on the food (sticking to the plan) and increase my working out, I could meet my goal in about 6 weeks. Which is right about when Showcase is. So that’s perfect.

I had already made my food for the week, so I knew my food was going to be a bit off that first week. But I could do the working out. The goal is 30 minutes of cardio five times a week. OY. For strength training, I’m aiming for 4 times a week. ZOIKES. And none of that counts dance or yoga. With my schedule, that fifth day of cardio will be tough to fit in. Unless I split it in two and did a short run two mornings a week before work. Hmm.

So last week, here is what I did:

Monday: 20 minutes yoga before work, 30 minute run after work
Tuesday: 20 minutes yoga before work, 45 minute dance practice party
Wednesday: 20 minutes yoga before work, 45 minutes of dance practice, 45 minute dance lesson
Thursday: 20 minutes yoga before work, 30 minute run after work, 20 minute strength training, 45 minute dance group class, 45 minute dance practice party
Friday: 20 minutes yoga before work
Saturday: 30 minute run, 20 minute strength training, 45 minute dance group class
Today: 35 minute bike

I DID IT. And I feel GOOD. I think I’m getting to the point that my body really wants to be moving this much. I’m going to try to keep this pace up.

I need your help though: Keep me accountable on food (no treats!) and exercise. I’ll lay it out for you…right now I’m 139 pounds with a body fat percentage of 25.15%. I want those numbers – in particular the body fat percentage – DOWN even though it’s in the healthy range. My BMI is pretty normal too.

Showcase is May 19. Let’s see how far I can get by then.

6 Responses to “Focus on me”

  1. savynaturalista April 14, 2013 at 4:16 pm #

    It is good to be accountable, I am slowly learning how to do that, like I am also learning how to focus on me. I think you are doing good, soon you will be a healthier you 🙂

  2. loveablestef April 15, 2013 at 1:03 am #

    Yes! Go for it! You did stellar this week. And, hey, maybe consider being glad you are 25% fat..not 45% fat, which is how I stack up….. like my body walking around in this world is half a piece of lard..can you even imagine?! Be SO glad you are a quarter of that! To be 20% is my goal and you, however, are already in a healthy range. This is something to celebrate, I think!…btw May 19 is my birthday. Let’s both see how low we can get by then? Kay?

    • The Reinvented Lass April 15, 2013 at 6:10 am #

      Deal! I know we can both make good progress by then. And I KNOW you can reach that goal of yours. You’ve done great cardio too!

    • The Reinvented Lass April 15, 2013 at 7:42 am #

      Let me try that again, now that I’ve had some coffee. How hard you’ve been working at this is part of what inspired me to get going again. You’ve done some amazing workouts lately – very impressive! Keep that up, and you got this goal HANDS DOWN. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Weekly roundup | The Reinvented Lass - April 15, 2013

    […] *Worked out A LOT. Which felt great. And tiring. […]

Have a comment? Let me know your thoughts!

