I really AM a runner

8 Mar

A few weeks ago, I realized that I was a runner because I was looking for 5Ks to do. And my friend and I signed up to do one tomorrow.

homer-running
Luckily I don’t feel like this when I run anymore.

Tomorrow is supposed to be warm (high around 38 degrees) but rainy. In fact, it’s supposed to be so icy overnight that they might need to cancel the race. I’m disappointed that they might cancel it because I’m looking forward to running it.

Wait, what?

I am looking forward to running a 5K? Who am I?

Then I started thinking about it. How much I enjoy being active. And how many that has changed since before I started dancing. I used to just sit around A LOT when I wasn’t working. I watched a lot of TV.

Now, I feel bad if I just sit around, even if it’s just for a few minutes. Now, I do yoga most mornings. I run. I do strength training. I dance. I’m starting to crave the activity of a workout. I still hate working out, but my body wants that level of activity now. Dance keeps me moving a lot, and I really like staying busy. Some days I’m a little too busy, but overall I’d rather be busy than just sitting around like a sloth all the time.

(I have a friend who plans her life around the TV schedule. She lives alone, and TV is very important to her. I say, good for her. That’s her interest, that’s her hobby, and she loves it. I think that’s great. I just know that it’s not how I want my life to be. I think it’s totally fine if others want to do that. Just not for me.)

runner
I don’t quite look like this either.

So, I’m writing this, hoping that they don’t have to cancel the race tomorrow. Which makes me realize how much I like running. Well, not running…more the feeling of accomplishment when I’m done running. And the endorphins.

Damn, I really AM a runner.

3 Responses to “I really AM a runner”

  1. kim March 8, 2013 at 10:37 pm #

    You are an amazing woman.
    Good luck tomorrow and may the running gods be with you.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Weekly roundup | The Reinvented Lass - March 11, 2013

    […] that my body now wants a certain level of physical activity. Whoa, that’s […]

Have a comment? Let me know your thoughts!

