If you’re not Gus-Gus, get out of my house

5 Mar

Last fall, we had a mouse in our house.

No big deal. Often in the fall, when the weather turns cold, critters from outside (especially mice) start trying to find places inside to spend the winter. We told our landlords about it. Last year, the same thing happened, they had the exterminator out, and no mice were seen again.

But this winter is the coldest winter in 4 years, and it’s snowy. This month is the snowiest March in 6 years. So the critters are trying to get inside.

So we saw another one a few weeks after the exterminator was here. We called again, he came out, and then nothing.

For a few weeks.

Then we heard another one. And the dog was staring at the file cabinet. We moved it, and we found a half-chewed candy bar. Apparently someone had knocked it over by mistake, and it fell between the file cabinet and desk. So we threw it out, cleaned the area, and figured we were good.

We were wrong. We saw little calling cards again. And one ran into my BEDROOM when I was in bed reading one night.

The exterminator was out again and again, and we were good for a while. Then we found a few droppings in the kitchen last week. We found a package with a few slices of bread that had fallen off the counter and behind the freezer. Cleaned it up and threw it out.

And tonight, I found a few droppings in our recycling basket.

I know the landlords are doing what they can, especially since they’ve seen evidence of them in their place too. (They live below us.) But it’s getting frustrating. Luckily the mice haven’t gotten into the cupboards and into the food. Yet.

Here’s my rule: Nature can do whatever it wants outside. But once a living creature crosses the threshold into my living space, that creature gives up its right to live. This applies to bugs too.

So this weekend, it’s WAR. Consider yourselves warned, mice! I’m coming after you this weekend. I’m going to try some natural remedies to repel them. And I might get some traps too. Except then I have to dispose of the traps – ick.

The only mouse I want to see in my house is Gus from Cinderella.

gus-gus

If you’re not him, you’re not welcome. So get out!

3 Responses to “If you’re not Gus-Gus, get out of my house”

  1. Robyn C. March 6, 2013 at 10:21 am #

    “Nature can do whatever it wants outside. But once a living creature crosses the threshold into my living space, that creature gives up its right to live.” – I am TOTALLY with you on this one! Good luck hunting!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Weekly roundup | The Reinvented Lass - March 11, 2013

    […] war on the non Gus-Gus mice in my […]

Have a comment? Let me know your thoughts!

