What makes a runner?

26 Feb

I have never been a runner. In fact, I never ran (except in gym class in grade school or to class in college) until last summer. Then about a year ago, I tried running at the gym as a form of cardio. And it went well. Because of the difference in burning calories with running, I kept doing it.

running

This is not what my brother looks like when running.

This summer, I did the Warrior Dash 5K. Then I did the Turkey Day 5K on Thanksgiving. And in between, I started doing a couch-to-5K running program.

To me, a runner is someone like my brother. He does a marathon every year, and he’s serious about his training for them. He’s not a run-at-the-gym-and-do-an-occasional-5K kind of person.

Yesterday, I signed up for another 5K with a friend of mine. And I really wanted to do it – I’m looking forward to it.

And then it hit me…I think I’m a runner.

When did that happen? I actually look forward to my workouts. I mean, it’s still not my favorite activity, but it’s easier to go workout because I know how great I’ll feel afterwards. It does clear my head. And I don’t like what it does to my mood when I haven’t worked out in a while.

So I guess that makes me a runner now? I run consistently (well, usually…we all go in cycles with workouts right?,) I like how I feel when running, and I willingly signed up for another 5K.

Plus there’s this…

Who doesn't want that?

Who doesn’t want that?

2 Responses to “What makes a runner?”

  1. stilllearning2b February 27, 2013 at 5:01 am #

    I had a similar journey except I never even ran in gym class. In fact, I was 30 before I ever ran a mile! I did a marathon last fall and it was interesting (snd oh so motivating) to hear the stories of all of the late-in-life runners. We all shared that tipping point of running ging from something we do to being something we are. Welcome to the club:)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. I really AM a runner | The Reinvented Lass - March 8, 2013

    […] few weeks ago, I realized that I was a runner because I was looking for 5Ks to do. And my friend and I signed up to do one […]

Have a comment? Let me know your thoughts!

