GOOOAALLLLLLL

11 Feb

Goals are important. Especially in hockey.

penguins-score!

(That photo’s for you, B.)

But they’re also important in dancing. Have you thought about what your dancing goals are? I do think about it, especially now that I’ve been doing this for a while.

When I started dancing, I had no goal. I didn’t know if I could even do this, let alone have any goal about it. Then I found out I could do this. And I still didn’t really have a goal articulated.

Some people want to just learn steps and check out of levels. Some people want to be good social dancers. Some people want to be great competitors. Some people want something fun to do with their significant other.

I wanted to be a good social dancer and a great performer/competitor. That made me realize…my goal was to be the best dancer I could be. And that has been my overarching goal for a long time.

We have goals for different timeframes too. Like checking out of a level. (This is the primarily goal for some people. I really couldn’t care about levels because I learn a lot by staying in a level for a while. Oh my teacher would be so proud to hear me say that. But some people are super focused on what level they’re in and how fast they’re moving through the levels.)

Showcase, which is every six months, is also a goal too – to have things reach a certain point by then. That’s more my teacher’s to think about. He knows best what to have ready when and what to focus on at Showcase. I even have goals for the day of Showcase – usually just one thing to think about while dancing such as posture, forward poise, stretch left, head up. (Head up was an early one. I tended to look up but kept my head down.)

It’s interesting to think about. Dancing is not just about dancing. You have to think about – and let your teacher know – what you want to achieve through your dancing. You have to know it, your teacher has to know it, you have to talk to your teacher about your goals.

And then watch how much you can achieve.

5 Responses to “GOOOAALLLLLLL”

  1. Marsha February 11, 2013 at 10:21 am #

    Was just thinking about Super Staurday! Did you participate? How did it go?

    • The Reinvented Lass February 11, 2013 at 10:22 am #

      So awesome! Even I was pleased with my performance. And I watched my videos, and no mental crashing yet!! Best one yet. πŸ™‚

  2. B February 11, 2013 at 10:23 am #

    I love the post & the photo in particular. πŸ™‚

    And this reminds me… Have you seen Silver Linings Playbook yet? Dance is, somewhat bizarrely, a huge part of the movie and I think you’d really love it.

    • The Reinvented Lass February 11, 2013 at 10:51 am #

      You know, I haven’t, and you’re the second person to tell me this. I think I need to check it out.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The real goal | The Reinvented Lass - February 24, 2013

    […] when I was talking about goals a few weeks ago? And I said that my dance goal was to be the best dancer I could […]

Have a comment? Let me know your thoughts!

