Sloth or not?

7 Jan
sloth

sloth

I’ve said it before: I think I’m a sloth by nature, so I try to fight that instinct often. But that often leaves me stuck in the middle.

Case in point: yesterday. Sundays are my only day each week that I don’t have anything scheduled (well, except church.) So I rarely schedule anything so I can get my laundry and cleaning and cooking for the week done and relax a bit. Yesterday, I was going to have coffee with SP in the morning but that was the only thing scheduled.

And I was so looking forward to just sitting and doing nothing. Maybe read, maybe knit. I was roommate-less this weekend, so I was going to just sit on my ass and veg out.

So I got up, got ready, ate breakfast and started laundry. Then I left to go meet SP; I got home from that (after a stop at the co-op) around 11:30. More laundry, then baked. Then made chicken and rice for my lunches. More laundry. Cleaned out the kitchen cupboards (the upper ones, anyway – the lower ones will need to wait for another day.) Then made baked oatmeal for my dinners this week. Wrote a quick blog post. Then I finally sat down to knit and watch some TV at about 4 or so.

The whole afternoon, I was lamenting the lack of time to sit around and do nothing. Or sit around, watch TV and knit. The lack of time to just sit and relax. And I did have a chunk of time – from 4ish until Downton Abbey started at 8. And you know what?

I hated it.

Even though I was knitting, I felt like a slug and a sloth. And it got me down a little bit. Being alone with my thoughts for too long is never a good thing. Hello, thinky place! I just felt so unproductive.

Which is nuts because clearly I got a lot done yesterday.

So I need to find this line between having enough time to sit and relax and doing it so much I feel down. I don’t want to be go go go ALL THE TIME, but apparently I need to stay busy.

baby sloth!

baby sloth!

Or maybe I just need to not beat myself up for taking 4 hours out of my entire week to just veg?

10 Responses to “Sloth or not?”

  1. aduarte01 January 7, 2013 at 9:21 pm #

    I was a total sloth yesterday and i hated it. Even thought I went to my parents for lunch and made dinner and watched a movie with my friend who’s moving to Texas. Foodwise, very productive! Other than that…

    • The Reinvented Lass January 7, 2013 at 9:27 pm #

      I think you have the same problem I do. You did a lot, just maybe not as much as you usually do? I wouldn’t call that a sloth day.

      • aduarte01 January 7, 2013 at 9:29 pm #

        Considering i had a few things to accomplish this weekend and watche TV instead…

      • The Reinvented Lass January 8, 2013 at 8:29 am #

        With how much you do in a normal week, you’re entitled to watch a little TV!

  2. Marsha Wiest-Hines January 8, 2013 at 9:49 am #

    LOL!!! Count knitting time as productivity. Viola!

  3. Dancing Branflake January 9, 2013 at 3:53 pm #

    Funny, life, honest.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. I really AM a runner | The Reinvented Lass - March 8, 2013

    […] I feel bad if I just sit around, even if it’s just for a few minutes. Now, I do yoga most mornings. I […]

  2. Healing is depressing | The Reinvented Lass - May 14, 2013

    […] then I get worried…am I reverting to being a fat sloth again? Am I healing or am I simply going back to old ways of sitting on my ass and not doing […]

Have a comment? Let me know your thoughts!

