Daily prompt: Call me Ishmael

6 Jan

“Scarlett O’Hara was not beautiful, but men seldom realized it when caught by her charm as the Tarleton twins were.”

Who wouldn’t want that? I would love to be so captivating and charming that men don’t realize I’m not beautiful. And not even just men. I think it’d be great if people in general found me so interesting and charming and captivating. Sometimes I feel less than average – that I’m not special enough to be remembered. (This is sometimes reinforced by the fact that people sometimes don’t remember meeting me.) So I’ve always been fascinated by that description of a captivating woman.

“Gone with the Wind” is one of my favorite books. The movie is excellent, but the book is so much better. I think I was about 13 when I read it for the first time. And I’ve been hooked on it ever since. I’ve reread it so many times, the dust cover completely wore out.

gone-with-the-wind

(Yesterday’s daily prompt: Take the first sentence from your favorite book and make it the first sentence of your post.)

One Response to “Daily prompt: Call me Ishmael”

  1. seeker January 6, 2013 at 10:20 pm #

    “Frankly speaking my dear” this is a good movie and book. Good choice.

Have a comment? Let me know your thoughts!

