The downside of being single

24 Dec

A majority of the time, I’m happy being single. Having been in a relationship that turned out to be a not-so-happy relationship, I’d much rather be on my own than in a bad relationship. Or the wrong relationship.

(Totally makes me think of “Some Kind of Wonderful” which ps is a great movie. But the line is something like “I’d rather be alone for the right reasons than with someone for the wrong reasons”.)

I’m a fairly independent person. Even when I need help, I’m not good at asking for it. Which is something I’m working on. I have a great life with super friends. So overall, I don’t mind that I’m single.

Except for the holidays. As much as I love the holidays, there is an expectation in society that you have a special someone to spend them with. But even that, I can deal with.

The downside of being single is the burden. I get tired of having to do everything. I have to pay all the bills, I have to do all the grocery shopping, I have to make all my meals. When I’m sick, I’m the one that has to go out and buy orange juice. And sometimes I just want to be taken care of, even if it means just one meal. It’d be nice to just share the burden with someone sometimes.

But then I look at some of the relationships my friends have, and I realize I’d rather carry the burden myself. Then I see other relationships, and I realize how good it can be when the relationship is strong and healthy. Overall, I think my preference is to be in a relationship, but I’m lucky enough to know that my life is happy and complete without one, too.

Even then, I would still like to be taken care of once in a while.

7 Responses to “The downside of being single”

  1. B December 24, 2012 at 7:44 am #

    Girl, you nailed it! This is exactly how I feel… I don’t always want to be taken care of, but sometimes you just do.

    Hang in there… Have a wonderful (single girl) holiday!

  2. Day Today Dating December 24, 2012 at 12:14 pm #

    I think the holidays are a difficult time to be single (or at least reminded of your singledom). On the upside, it’s a great time to be surrounded by loving family and friends and think about the upcoming new year.

    – K.

    • The Reinvented Lass December 28, 2012 at 8:51 pm #

      You got it, K. It’s a tough time of year, but it’s also so fantastic.

  3. BrassyLibrarian December 27, 2012 at 8:42 am #

    Perfect! I second everything.

    Here’s to magic in 2013. And until it happens, lots of fun being solo and happy.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. It’s Saturday night « The Reinvented Lass - December 29, 2012

    […] Anyway, having someone or not having someone isn’t my point. Because being single is fine. […]

Have a comment? Let me know your thoughts!

