It’s the holiday season!

30 Nov

It’s the holiday season! Some people say that it starts December 1st (I’m not naming names, SR), but for me it starts with Thanksgiving. More precisely, the day after.

And the holiday season brings out the romantic in me. I love the holiday season. The winter wonderland…

white-christmas

Although we don’t have any snow here yet and it’s supposed to be 50 degrees tomorrow. Boo.

…the television specials…

charlie-brown-xmas

I love love love this one.

hermey the elf

Hermey’s always been special to me.

This song will be stuck in my head now for the whole month.

This song will be stuck in my head now for the whole month.

…and the movies…

Holiday Inn. The movie, not the hotel.

Holiday Inn. The movie, not the hotel.

white-christmas

Bing Crosby and Danny Kaye and Irving Berlin. ‘Nuff said.

Reminds me of so many things. Yes I cry when I watch it. Don't judge.

Reminds me of so many things. Yes I cry when I watch it. Don’t judge.

…the feeling in the air. I can’t even describe it, really. It’s what they sing about in those holiday songs.

…gift giving. I love giving presents. I don’t have a lot of money, but I’ve been planning for a while. And I’m knitting some things, and I have a good start on those. I love letting people know they’re special to me by giving them presents.

…the decorations. I usually get mine out the day after Thanksgiving. I have roommates this year, so I haven’t gotten mine out. It feels a bit presumptuous to put up my stuff all over our place. But still, I love the decorations in stores and in other people’s houses.

…the friendliness. Everyone seems so happy this time of year. And the idea of families and friends gathering in some Norman Rockwell way brings a warm feeling to my heart.

Now, I know it’s not all rosy. The holidays can be a very challenging time. Depression increases significantly. And it’s easy to feel lonely. For example, a friend of mine was talking about having so many holiday parties to go to, he wasn’t sure if he could make them all. I have one to go to. But strangely, it didn’t bother me. And we all know that spending significant time with some of my family can be challenging for me. And if you don’t have a significant other in your life, it can feel very lonely.

But for some reason, this year, I feel happy. Maybe I’m just in a better place mentally, but I am totally loving the holiday season. I’m OK with being single…actually more than OK. I have a feeling of warmth, and joy, and love, and happiness.

I hope it lasts all month. And I hope you all experience this too, and that the holiday season is full of happiness for you too.

2 Responses to “It’s the holiday season!”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Weekly roundup « The Reinvented Lass - December 3, 2012

    […] *Started getting excited for the holiday season. […]

  2. The downside of being single « The Reinvented Lass - December 24, 2012

    […] for the holidays. As much as I love the holidays, there is an expectation in society that you have a special someone to spend them with. But even […]

Have a comment? Let me know your thoughts!

