My attempt at jewelry holders

24 Nov

I’m sure you’ve all seen the items on Pinterest about making jewelry holders from picture frames. Seems straightforward enough, right?

I make a lot of my jewelry, and my earrings were getting bent by being jumbled in a dish. I thought this might be an easy way to organize them, get the clutter off my dresser, and protect them a bit. So I thought I’d give it a go.

Step one: Buy black picture frames at Goodwill. That way you don’t have to paint them black.

Step two: Go to hardware store and get screen mesh.

Step three: Remove crap from inside frame (glass, cardboard, etc) but keep the backing.

Step four: Cut the screen mesh to fit inside the frame. Note: it is apparently very hard to do this without cutting your hands on the wire! Well, maybe that’s just me.

Step five: Glue the mesh inside the frame. I used epoxy glue. Because why not? Seemed like it should hold.

Step six: When glue is dry, glue scrapbooking paper to the inside of the frame so there is a nice background for the jewelry. I used paper glue that my roommate had.

Step seven: When the glue is dry, put the backing back in the frame. Add a picture hanger hook on the top of the back. Add hooks to the bottom of the frame on the front.

Step eight: Hang. Realize that the paper doesn’t give enough room between it and the mesh to allow the earrings to hang. Take off paper and glue it to the back of the frame instead of inside the frame.

Step nine: Hang. Realize you missed some spots with the epoxy glue but you’re not quite sure how because it was pretty saturated. Hmm. Remove paper and reglue mesh with crazy glue because you’re out of epoxy and you don’t feel like running to the hardware store. Also add picture wire across the bottom of one of the frames for some necklaces and earrings that don’t fit through the mesh.

Step ten: Glue paper on the back of the frame – AGAIN.

Step eleven: Wonder if it will actually work this time.

Step twelve: Hang – AGAIN. Hope that third time’s a charm.

And it was.

4 Responses to “My attempt at jewelry holders”

  1. Jen Bushmaker November 25, 2012 at 6:16 pm #

    Love it Cathy!!! It looks awesome!

  2. dramaqueenseams December 4, 2012 at 12:08 pm #

    Looks great!!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Weekly roundup « The Reinvented Lass - November 26, 2012

    […] *Finally remembered to tell you about my jewelry holders. […]

Have a comment? Let me know your thoughts!

