What do happy people do differently?

21 Nov

I love how the universe works. I’ve been all cranky pants lately, and then I saw this on Facebook. Of course, it made me think but in a good way. Mainly because it says in black and white things that I’m not doing. And not doing them leads to the thinky place. And cranky pants. Boo.

1. Express gratitude.
Something I really don’t do enough. I am so grateful for so many things in my life. And I take them for granted. I have some close, amazing friends. I have my health. I have a good job I like. I have dancing. I need to remind myself of these things more frequently.

2. Cultivate optimism.
Ha. I think we can all safely say that is not something that I naturally do. Hello, I’m Irish. Optimism does not come naturally.

3. Avoid overthinking and social comparison.
‘Nuff said, right?

4. Practice acts of kindness.
I think I actually do this a fair amount. I try to help others and do little things for people.

5. Nurture social relationships.
I kinda do this. But when I get thinky, I go inward. And become a little anti-social. When what I really need to do is reach out and be social. Counter-intuitive, but there ya go.

6. Develop strategies for coping.
This, I can do. I have strategies. I’ve learned a lot over the last few years about how to cope. I just need to remember to use them.

7. Learn to forgive.
I’m really good at forgiveness except for forgiving myself. I have such high standards for myself, and I totally beat myself up when I don’t meet them. (See also: dance.) I need to work on forgiving myself.

8. Increase flow experiences.
Have you read Flow? It is an amazing book. My dance teacher asked me once to describe how it feels when I’m dancing and performing. I told him to read Flow. Dance performances, for me, are flow experiences. I need to learn how to make dancing anytime more like flow.

9. Savor life’s joys.
See optimism above.

10. Commit to your goals.
That would mean that I have defined (aka “smart”) goals. I should think about those. Figure out what they are…and how to get there.

11. Practice spirituality.
Well, I’ve been doing this lately since I joined a church. I really felt like a spiritual piece was missing in my life. So I’m happy to be in a church again.

12. Take care of your body.
OY. See also: do not emotionally eat a bunch of crap. I’ve been pretty good about the gym lately, so that’s good. I just need to watch the food thing.

Thanks, universe, for putting this in front of my face today. I needed it. No more cranky pants!

One Response to “What do happy people do differently?”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Weekly roundup « The Reinvented Lass - November 26, 2012

    […] about what happy people do differently. Well, the universe put that thought in front of me. Still, I paid […]

Have a comment? Let me know your thoughts!

