A comma makes all the difference

28 Oct

I was struck by something in church on today.

Are you familiar with the Nicene Creed? I think most Christian faiths…or at least a lot of them…use it. Or some version of it. I know the Catholic Church uses it as does the Episcopalian Church.

One line struck me. In the Episcopalian church I go to, one line reads “For our sake he was crucified under Pontius Pilate; he suffered death and was buried.” But in the Catholic church, the line is “For our sake he was crucified under Pontius Pilate; he suffered, died and was buried.”

Do you see what a difference that one comma makes? And how having it or not can totally change the focus?

In the Catholic’s version, Christ suffered, then died, then was buried. In the Episcopalian version, he suffered death and was buried. The suffering prior to death is almost downplayed. Not really, but the suffering and guilt don’t have nearly the importance in the Episcopalian church that they do in the Catholic church. Christ’s suffering is important, but there is not the strong guilt and groveling.

I like that. I still have a lot of Catholic guilt that pops up. And I don’t like that the guilt is such a strong part of the Catholic faith.

So I’m happy with the Episcopalian church so far. I know it’s not perfect, but it’s feeling very comfortable for me. And I like the church I joined. I’m so happy to be back in a faith community!

Oh, and commas are important in other ways too…

4 Responses to “A comma makes all the difference”

  1. cathtravelsandteaches October 31, 2012 at 7:46 pm #

    Read “Eats, shoots and leaves”. Very funny book about punctuation, and my fave go-to as an English teacher šŸ™‚

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Weekly roundup « The Reinvented Lass - October 29, 2012

    […] what a difference punctuation can […]

  2. Big ‘C’ or Little ‘c’? There is a difference. | Kens Cushion - November 17, 2012

    […] A comma makes all the difference (thereinventedlass.wordpress.com) […]

  3. Catholic or catholic – church or Church? - June 15, 2013

    […] A comma makes all the difference (thereinventedlass.wordpress.com) […]

Have a comment? Let me know your thoughts!

