Other people’s mirrors

27 Oct

You know how you go along in life, seeing yourself as you see yourself, thinking the world sees you the same way? Then with a random comment, a friend shows you how they see you, and it’s totally different? That happened to me yesterday.

I had dinner with my friend MH yesterday. We were talking about books and movies, and suddenly she says to me, “You’re such a well-rounded person. That’s so cool.”

What?

I’m not sure exactly what she meant, and I wish I had asked her. I don’t considered myself well-rounded, but I guess she does. And it really made me stop and think…maybe I am?

4 Responses to “Other people’s mirrors”

  1. Marsha October 28, 2012 at 8:29 am #

    Fascinating. My husband and I chose each other based on exactly this. I like myself when I look through the mirror of his eyes. And vice versa. Sometimes we show each other less appealing bits, but always with respect and kindness.

    • The Reinvented Lass October 28, 2012 at 8:12 pm #

      Oh that’s good. Now that you mention it, I think it’s key in a good relationship to have that.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Weekly roundup « The Reinvented Lass - October 29, 2012

    […] told that I was a well-rounded person which caught me […]

  2. Looking in the mirror again. | The Reinvented Lass - November 12, 2013

    […] have been holding up the mirror for me again. I’ve talked about that before, and before, and before, and before. (Apparently this is a recurring thing for me.) I’m […]

Have a comment? Let me know your thoughts!

