Granny’s recipes: Spice cake

18 Oct

So you know my parents recently downsized. In going through their stuff prior to their move, they cleaned out a lot of stuff. A LOT. My dad found a packet of papers that turned out to be a whole bunch of recipes his mother had typed out. For who, we’re not sure. But it was such a treasure trove. She died when I was two, so I never really knew her. But my dad was super close to her, and apparently she was an awesome baker. So I was excited to get a copy of her recipes.

You know I like to bake, so I’ve decided to go through the book and try some. A lot of them are not well written, so it’ll be interesting to see how this goes.

To start, I chose a spice cake. The directions were mostly there, so I figured it was an easy one to start with. Some things were weird in the directions though…like dissolve the baking soda in the milk before adding to the batter and adding the milk after the flour. Still, I figured she knew what she was doing, so I just went on faith. When it was cool, I frosted it with a frosting recipe from her stack as well. And then I tried it. I thought it was amazing, the most flavorful spice cake I’ve ever made.

So I’m excited to try more of her recipes. Stay tuned…I’ll be sure to post them here!

***
Spice Cake
4 tbsp shortening (I used butter)
1.5 cups sugar
2 eggs
4 tbsp molasses
3 cups flour
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp each cinnamon, cloves, allspice, nutmeg
1.5 cups sour milk or buttermilk
1.5 tsp baking soda
3/4 cup raisins
3/4 cup nuts

Preheat oven to 350. Grease a 9×13 pan. Cream shortening and sugar together. Add eggs and beat good with a mixing spoon. (I used my trusty stand mixer for the whole recipe.) Add molasses and mix well. Add flour and spices and mix well. Add baking soda to milk and dissolve; add milk mixture to batter and mix well. Stir in raisins and nuts. Pour batter into prepared pan and bake about 35 minutes or until done. (The recipe calls for baking it for 45 minutes, but that’s before ovens became powerful. I baked it for about 40 and the edges were overdone. So I’d start checking it at 25 minutes.)

Frosting
1/2 cup butter
1 cup brown sugar
1/4 cup milk
1.75-2 cups powdered sugar

Melt butter and brown sugar together over low heat and bring to a boil. Boil for 2 minutes while stirring constantly. Add milk and stir constantly until it comes to a boil. Cool until lukewarm. Add powdered sugar and mix well. If it gets too hard, add a few drops of hot water.

3 Responses to “Granny’s recipes: Spice cake”

  1. mydearbakes October 19, 2012 at 2:22 am #

    Gosh, this looks so yummy! =D

  2. Marsha October 19, 2012 at 8:22 am #

    I think I will hqve to try this. Sounds fantastic, particularly the icing!

Have a comment? Let me know your thoughts!

