Starting yoga

4 Oct

I started to do yoga in the mornings.

I only do 20 minutes, because I’m not willing to get up any earlier than I already do. But instead of hitting snooze for 20 minutes, I get up and do yoga. Last week I did it on two days, and I’ve done it every day this week so far.

Yoga places are so expensive, and I knew I wouldn’t go to enough classes to make a membership worthwhile. But my friend KB told me about a great website that for only $18 a month, you can use the videos anytime and for as much as you can. They had a 15-day free trial, so I tried it last week. The videos are great! I tried a video that was probably a bit above my level, but I did OK. Kinda like when I did the yoga class with KB before. I have a Facebook friend who is a yoga master, and she said this was a really good website too.

Why am I doing yoga, you ask? Well, I like the stretching and increased flexibility you supposedly get from yoga. I also like the centering and peacefulness it can bring. Plus it will be really good for me as I get old. But mainly, it will really help my dancing. Same reason I work out as much as I do. Which isn’t that much but is much more than I used to do.

So far, it’s going well. I know it will get easier over time – not easy but easier. Let’s hope I can stay with it!

2 Responses to “Starting yoga”

  1. caityrosey October 4, 2012 at 8:18 am #

    I need to get back into yoga. I was doing a it quite a lot last year. Then this year I started running and biking again and my time for yoga sort of drifted away. That, and I have trouble making the classes at my gym when work is so crazy. Good for you for giving it a try. I really enjoyed it.

    • The Reinvented Lass October 4, 2012 at 8:29 am #

      Thanks! It definitely is a challenge, but I hope I can stick with it and really get into it.

Have a comment? Let me know your thoughts!

