Weekend of food

1 Oct

Pumpkin bread, pumpkin ginger molasses cookies, and beef stew. Three great things that go great together…maybe? Regardless, they were awesome.

I found the pumpkin recipes on another blog I love – Eating for England. Have you checked it out? It’s fantastic. It’s written by a girl originally from England but now living in Minneapolis with her husband.

I looked at her pumpkin bread recipe. I wanted to make a bread for a friend of mine who had a tough week. He rarely lets stress get to him but last week it really did. I thought a quick bread might be a nice pick-me-up. So I tried her pumpkin bread recipe. I didn’t have (and forgot to get) walnuts, so I made it without them. And it tasted great! My friend was very happy to receive the gift, but I haven’t heard how he liked it.

While looking at the pumpkin bread recipe, I found her recipe for pumpkin ginger molasses cookies. I love gingersnaps, and this sounded like a great twist on those. Since I knew I’d have pumpkin leftover, I thought it’d be a good one to try. I didn’t let the dough chill as long as I should have, but they still turned out great.

Then I tried a beef stew. We had glimpses of fall this past week with cool temperatures. That got me in the mood for cozy food. So I made stew. Even though this weekend the highs were near 80s. I found a recipe for beef stew with fennel and shallots that sounded great. I made it, it was amazing, and I forgot to take pictures of it. SIGH. Someday my brain will nudge me to take pictures when I’m cooking. SOMEDAY.

One Response to “Weekend of food”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pumpkin blondies « The Reinvented Lass - November 4, 2012

    […] it. Pumpkin blondies. I adore blondies, and the thought of adding pumpkin sounded soooo good. The pumpkin cookies I made a few weeks ago turned out great, so I thought I’d give this a […]

Have a comment? Let me know your thoughts!

