I think I found a church

30 Sep

I tried a new church today, and I think I found the one I want to go to. What a relief.

I’ve been trying a few here and there although not too many to be honest. I wanted to go to one that was in my neighborhood and was Episcopalian. I talked before I think about why I’m not comfortable going to a Catholic church anymore, even though there are a few progressive parishes here. Episcopalian is the close relative of Catholicism, so I thought I’d try that.

I went to the 8:00 service (service? mass? I don’t even know what they call it in the Episcopalian church) today. Right away, I was greeted at the door by the pastor who was very welcoming. The church itself is very old (1881 I think?) and is beautiful. The service was very similar to a Catholic mass but slightly different. The sermon was fantastic and really gave me something to think about.

I’m anxious to try the 10:00 service which has music and is a bit more modern I guess? I’m not actually sure of the difference, and Google is letting me down and not giving me a clear answer on that.

Overall I was very pleased and happy to be there. I left feeling that my soul was fed, which is a great feeling and one I haven’t really felt in a while. I actually can’t wait to go again and take care of that side of me which I’ve been neglecting for a long time.

 

4 Responses to “I think I found a church”

  1. kim October 1, 2012 at 1:45 pm #

    Good for you.

  2. B October 22, 2012 at 10:25 am #

    I’ve been thinking about trying to go back to church lately… I was raised Catholic but just can’t do it anymore. Maybe I’ll give Episcopalian a try… thanks for the inspiration!

    • The Reinvented Lass October 22, 2012 at 10:28 am #

      The one I found totally works for me. And it kinda feels Catholic – the good part of Catholicism at least.

Have a comment? Let me know your thoughts!

