Crafty wall hangings

11 Sep

So I saw this idea on Pinterest. And of course, I can’t find the original link now. But given my attitude lately (which is slowly being adjusted), I thought that I’d try to make some for myself to constantly have these as reminders.

I bought a pack of seven 9×12 canvases at Michaels for like $5. I painted the backgrounds of each. Then I found six quotes I really liked (thanks again, Pinterest!), and printed them out in big fonts. One per page.

Then the hard part. The original idea said to cut out the letters, attached them with spray adhesive, paint over the whole canvas, and then remove the letters. That seems really difficult with the amount of letters I had. And keeping them straight would have been a nightmare. If I were doing just a few letters, I’d totally do it that way. For this, I decided to use the printouts as stencils. So I cut each letter out, laid the paper on the canvas, and painted over the openings. In hindsight, I’d use cardstock or something thicker than printer paper – the paper didn’t give a clean enough edge.

When they were dry, I hung them over my bed.

Do they look homemade? Absolutely. Do I care? Nope, not at all. I just love seeing those quotes every day and being reminded of the new attitude I want to keep.

The quotes?
You can’t lead a positive life with a negative mood.
Be the type of person you want to meet.
At the end of the day, you can focus on what’s tearing you apart or what’s holding you together.
I, not events, have the power to make me happy or unhappy today. I choose happiness.
A good laugh and a long sleep are the two best cures for everything.
Life begins at the end of your comfort zone.

Awesome, right? Fantastic reminders that I need in front of me for a while. Because as my friend GS says, you can choose to be positive, even if you’re a negative person by nature. Plus, it felt good to make something and get back to the creative side of me.

3 Responses to “Crafty wall hangings”

  1. cathtravelsandteaches September 12, 2012 at 12:32 am #

    I love these – I have similar things in my room. One of my favourites is:
    You gain strength, courage and confidence by every experience in which you really stop to look fear in the face. Do the thing you think you cannot do.

    Also – Everything will be okay in the end. If it’s not okay, it’s not the end.

    And Churchill can always be relied upon – If you’re going through Hell, keep going.

  2. Robyn C. September 12, 2012 at 9:00 am #

    These are fabulous! Love it!

  3. momentsofmezz September 12, 2012 at 3:43 pm #

    Awesome idea! If you find the link, let me know. I might try this with your directions tho xD I really like it!

Have a comment? Let me know your thoughts!

