Gluten-free brownies

4 Sep

I baked this weekend.

Given my mood lately (and by lately, I mean like three months), I haven’t done a lot of baking. And when I have, it’s been the baking equivalent of grilled cheese and tomato soup. (You know, that was never comfort food to me. But it is to a lot of people. So I reference it as a pop culture thing. If it were referring to my comfort food, it’d be toast. But I digress.) I’ve been making Tollhouse chocolate chip cookies and the like.

I found a recipe I wanted to try. You know that occasionally I like to make gluten-free things because one of the staff at the dance studio can’t eat gluten. And I feel bad for him when I and other people bring in food he can’t have. So I saw this recipe last week and thought I’d give it a go. It’s an easy gluten-free recipe; most of them have 6000 ingredients in them.

I added extra chocolate chips in because I didn’t want a partial package of chocolate chips around. So I dumped in the whole thing. Sorry for the lack of photo. Brain not fully engaged yet after Dance-O-Rama. It’s getting there though.

You have to check out the blog I found them on. I follow her because she has great recipes that are pretty simple. But also because she has awesome, hilarious stories about med school and being a doctor. Makes me appreciate my job and its mundane-ness a bit more.

These brownies were so good, I’d make them as regular brownies and just not tell anyone they’re gluten-free. Well, other than the guy at the studio with celiac. I told him. Because it’s only fair he get more than his share of them, since he can’t eat most of what shows up at the studio.

And by the way, he thought they were fabulous. So go try them. And follow the domestic diva, md. She’s fabulous too.

9 Responses to “Gluten-free brownies”

  1. domestic diva, MD September 4, 2012 at 10:44 pm #

    Why thank you!!! I had to start making gluten free things because one of my med students was just diagnosed with celiac disease and I felt bad for everything she couldn’t eat!

    Love your blog, too!

    P.s. sometimes I use the entire bag of chocolate chips, too. Plus I buy chocolate chips in bulk at Costco…

    • The Reinvented Lass September 5, 2012 at 5:38 am #

      I know, I always feel super bad for him when we have potlucks at the studio and he can have like 3 things.

      Thanks for the comments – your blog really is great!!

  2. caityrosey September 5, 2012 at 8:47 am #

    Those do sound tasty. Trying very hard not to drink my Berry Veggie smoothie and NOT think about chocolate right now.

    • The Reinvented Lass September 5, 2012 at 9:02 am #

      Chocolate is bad, and it tastes horrible! Don’t ever eat it – it’ll kill you instantly!

      (There, did that help at all?)

      • caityrosey September 5, 2012 at 9:19 am #

        Immensely, thank you.

        NOT staring at the jar of tootsie rolls.

      • The Reinvented Lass September 5, 2012 at 9:30 am #

        Can’t help you there, I don’t like tootsie rolls. I think you need to surround yourself with different food. 🙂

      • caityrosey September 5, 2012 at 9:55 am #

        I was given this little gift jar of candy as a reward after a big project was completed. The whole team got them. I’m thinking that maybe I’ll keep the jar and donate the tootsie rolls.

      • The Reinvented Lass September 5, 2012 at 9:59 am #

        Shouldn’t it be a big jar for a little project?

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Weekly roundup « The Reinvented Lass - September 10, 2012

    […] fabulous gluten-free brownies that were so good, they tasted like full-gluten […]

Have a comment? Let me know your thoughts!

