Saturday full of stuff

18 Aug

Today was a great day…but very tiring.

I started with an hour of reading. Just reading. In a quiet house. No other distractions, no obligations, just reading. I had things I wanted to do but I didn’t want to wake up my roommates. So instead I read. Which was so good for me. I haven’t really taken the time to do that in a while. And I love to read. Plus, I had this awesome book waiting for me to crack its cover:

I’m about 1/3 of the way through now, and it’s as good as I was hoping it would be. No, actually, it’s better.

Then I went to a yoga class with my friend KB. We’ve been trying to find time to go together to one, and our schedules just never seem to line up well. But today was the day! Corepower Yoga has a free week, so I signed up for that. We did the beginners class. KB has been doing yoga for a while now, so I was worried about keeping up with her. Not keeping up exactly, but I didn’t want to shame myself about how far ahead she (and the rest of the class) was. Turns out, I kept up pretty well! KB is far more flexible than I am, but I did all the poses and only had to cheat on a few of them. I’m sorry, not cheat…modify. Whatever.

The only sucky thing was that yoga apparently needs to be done in a warm room. This wasn’t hot yoga, which I guess is in a room like 105 degrees. But it was 85 degrees, which was HOT for this anti-heat-and-humidity girl. The sweat was literally pouring off my face, and all my clothes got DRENCHED. But I did it! Then we rewarded ourselves with coffee and yummy stuff from the bakery downstairs from the yoga studio. And talked. For about an hour and a half. Which was awesome because 1) I rarely take that much time these days to just stop and chill out and 2) KB is so much fun, I just love hanging out with her.

Errands were next. Dance-O-Rama is next weekend, so I had a lot of things to get today. Girly things like fake eyelashes, fishnet stockings, makeup, snacks…well, I guess snacks aren’t girly. I also had to go to the hardware store, the co-op, the liquor store (yes!), the gas station…whew.

I was headed home when SP called me to see if I wanted to go for a bike ride. I did but couldn’t because of the timing. So instead she came over for about 30 minutes and we hung out. So fun. I enjoy her company so much.

Then a dance lesson. And it was the best one I’ve had in a long time. I haven’t written here much because I’ve been so in my head and in the thinky place on a lot of things but especially dance. More on that later, but today I wasn’t there. I was just enjoying our run-throughs. And laughing a lot. Which hasn’t happen in a long time with dancing.

Grocery store was next. Then home to make dinner. I was so tired, I ate frozen pizza. OK, I cooked it first, but you know what I mean.

And now, I’m exhausted. I’m actually looking at the clock wondering how long until I can go to bed. This will be me in about two hours:

Tomorrow, it’s laundry, brunch with my friend AM, and lots of just hanging out. Hopefully watch a movie and knit. Maybe some reading.

And definitely finish my packing list for Dance-O-Rama because that’s THIS WEEK.

3 Responses to “Saturday full of stuff”

  1. Darlene B August 18, 2012 at 8:39 pm #

    Good luck at your Dance-O-Rama. Enjoy every moment.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Starting yoga « The Reinvented Lass - October 4, 2012

    […] I tried a video that was probably a bit above my level, but I did OK. Kinda like when I did the yoga class with KB before. I have a Facebook friend who is a yoga master, and she said this was a really good […]

Have a comment? Let me know your thoughts!

