Why dance matters

29 Jul

Why does dance matter?

We could have a whole conversation about how and why the arts matter at all and dance in particular. But I’ll leave that for others to discuss. This is simply why it matters to me.

Why does it matter? Because it has and continues to change me, challenge me, and bring me joy. It is my passion. It is what I love to do. And I can’t imagine my life without it anymore.

It has made me more confident, more graceful, more poised, and happier. I discovered my talent in life when I started to dance.

Through dance, I’ve been able to address issues and baggage I have and work through them. It has made me grow and change as a person. I shudder to think what I would still be like had that not happened.

Every dance lesson challenges me to improve from the day before and to go outside my comfort zone. It allows me to express emotions and feelings that I don’t often express as part of daily life.

It has given me friends that I never would have met otherwise. Friends that I connect with because of a shared passion for dance.

And it allows me to experience joy – pure, simple joy. Joy in the moment where I forget everything else in the world.

Why does dance matter? Because it changed my life in so many positive ways. And I will be forever grateful.

(This was written as part of a great project called Why Dance Matters. Check it out here. And read this awesome post about it.)

4 Responses to “Why dance matters”

  1. Marsha July 29, 2012 at 9:17 pm #

    Wonderful post! Love it. For me, competition of all sorts is about goal setting and reaching beyond your norm to find an acme you would otherwise not achieve. I’m so glad you dance!

    • The Reinvented Lass July 29, 2012 at 9:20 pm #

      Very well put! I’m glad I dance too – because of friends like you. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Weekly roundup « The Reinvented Lass - July 31, 2012

    […] to articulate why dance matters to me. I didn’t do as well as I would have liked, but I think it got the point […]

  2. MORE Bloggers Share Why Dance Matters | danskinshorts.net - August 5, 2012

    […] The Reinvented Lass — Why dance matters […]

Have a comment? Let me know your thoughts!

