Get through it one day at a time

19 Jun

The good news: I’m moving a week from Sunday. Yay! Back to my ‘hood. Back to my life. Back to being able to relax at home. Back to having a drink after work if I so choose. (By the way, did you know today is national martini day? Yep. it’s a sign, I think.)

Ahhhh, bliss.

But the bad news: I have a crapload of stuff to do between now and then. My friend SP and I were trying to find a time to get together this week or next, and my response was well, I have this 1.5 hour break on Saturday, or dinner next Thursday. SIGH. At a time that seeing friends and relaxing is so key, I don’t have time.

Sometimes I feel like the White Rabbit. Always running to the next thing, worrying about being late.

And you’re probably saying…well just make time! Right. I would if I could. But I have my full-time job. I’m working about 15 hours a week at my part-time job. Family gathering Saturday, which I’m co-hosting. Pack up the rest of my stuff on Sunday. Repeat next week. It’s so bad, I’ve had to cut dance out this week. I’m only going to the studio for my lesson Saturday. THAT should give you an indication of how busy and stressed I feel.

So how do I cope? With lists! Lists, lists, lists make the world easier. Right? I get comfort from lists. They also allow me to dump that information out of my brain, which makes my brain spin a lot less. So I have my to-do list for the week. And for next week. And one for things I need to get before moving (ie, get cable modem). [ie or eg? I forget. You wordsmiths out there can correct me.] And one for things to keep packed separately because I’ll need them right away, like a toothbrush. (See? Not even going to try the ie/eg thing there.)

Great, I have a pile of lists.

But to really manage the stress, I need to take it one day at a time. Don’t look at the overwhelming list of for the week. Just look at today’s. That’s manageable. So that’s all I can do. Take it in manageable chunks. As long as the chunks are well planned, it should go smoothly.

It’s kinda this nutty until after July 7. By that date, I’ll be mostly unpacked, and I’ll have helped my parents move to their new place too. So I’m trying to just take it one day at a time until July 7. THEN I can start to refocus on me and my life.

It’ll be about time, don’t you think?

Meanwhile…

…remember to laugh!

2 Responses to “Get through it one day at a time”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Perspective through rainbows « The Reinvented Lass - June 22, 2012

    […] I was driving home, I was tired. And a bit cranky just from being tired. And still overwhelmed with all the crap to do this week. And there was road construction on the highway, so the last mile of my commute was […]

  2. Weekly roundup « The Reinvented Lass - June 25, 2012

    […] *Realized the only way I’ll survive the next few weeks are by taking it one day at a time. […]

Have a comment? Let me know your thoughts!

