Joining the SYTYCD yarn along

9 Jun

Have you heard of yarn alongs? The point of a yarn along is to blog about a knitting project you’re working on as well as a book you’re all reading. Sort of a virtual book club with knitting.

Anyhoo, I’ve never done one of these. But my friend CD over at All She Wants To Do Is is starting one for the newest season of “So You Think You Can Dance”.  I love reading her blog for various reasons. One, she’s funny. Two, we have hobbies in common: dancing and knitting (although I’m more dancing and she’s more knitting). Three, she’s funny. I’ve never done a yarn along but I thought it sounded fun and a good way to enjoy SYTYCD, so I’m in!

Confession: I’ve never watched SYTYCD. As much as I love dancing, I’m never home on the nights it airs. But with my new job, I’m able to watch things over lunch. (I never had much time for lunch in my old job.) So I’ll be able to watch it online and blog about it with others. I’ve always wanted to watch it because I’ve heard it’s great, and even people who don’t like dancing think it’s amazing.

The rules for this one are to write a post each week in which you share:

  • A fiber arts project you are currently working on. Perhaps something you work on while watching the show. (It doesn’t have to be a dance related project.)
  • Your favorite dance moment(s) from a recent episode. Please also feel free to share the music you really liked, how awesome you think the choreographers are, etc.
  • Do you have a dance background of any kind? Share your perspective.
  • Share your insights about the intersections between fiber art and dance. Assuming you can find one.
  • Anything else that happens to inspire you.

So watch for my weekly posts on this. I have a feeling that while CD will be doing one project for each episode (she’s such a fast knitter), I’ll be working on the same damn project the whole season. But that really doesn’t matter.

Time to go watch an episode of SYTYCD.

7 Responses to “Joining the SYTYCD yarn along”

  1. Marsha June 9, 2012 at 9:12 am #

    You will be blown away by SYTYCD. It’s the best thing on TV and the only thing I work hard not to miss. I can’t join you yarn along, due to other committments, but I’ll enjoy following!!!

    • The Reinvented Lass June 9, 2012 at 9:18 am #

      Yep, as usual, I’m late to the cool things. But it’ll be fun to start watching.

  2. Gina June 9, 2012 at 12:54 pm #

    This is so cool! I look forward to reading your posts. I love SYTYCD (and dance in general) and love yarn, great combo. Enjoy the show =]

    • The Reinvented Lass June 9, 2012 at 1:25 pm #

      Thanks Gina! I’m looking forward to it. I can’t believe it’s taken me this long to start watching!

  3. caityrosey June 9, 2012 at 7:50 pm #

    I’m so glad you decided to join. I’ll look forward to your perspective. I used to be on a college ballroom team so I’m always rooting for the ballroom dancers in the top 10. I sure hope there’s at least one this year. I’ve seen very few in the tryouts, which is odd. SLC always seems to have lots of ballroom dancers I their tryouts, if past seasons are any indication.

    • The Reinvented Lass June 9, 2012 at 10:10 pm #

      I can’t wait to get started on this! Although I have a feeling it’ll be a total time suck. But probably no more so than actual dancing. Thanks for starting this!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Weekly roundup « The Reinvented Lass - June 11, 2012

    […] to join a yarn along. And watch SYTYCD. They relate. Honestly they […]

Have a comment? Let me know your thoughts!

