Showcase!

8 May

Sunday was Showcase. The last one was great, other than some student making some comments to me that were intended to be helpful but were kinda hurtful in the moment.

Dancing has been a bit of a struggle lately…way too much in the thinky place. So I wasn’t sure how this one would good. I felt prepared from a dance perspective, but still was unsure.

And you know what?

IT WENT GREAT! I feel like it was my best Showcase so far. We had a couple of mess-ups, all due to traffic issues while doing our opens. We knew that could happen, and we just need to work on that before Dance-O-Rama. But everything else was fantastic! My posture was great, my expressions were better, I was on time for most of the mambo, I was just dancing in the music and not thinking.

I got a lot of compliments too. A teacher from the other studio said that he was amazed at the progress I had made in six months. One teacher from my studio told me that she loved my swing the best – and we all know what a struggle triple swing has been. One student called my dancing inspirational.

And I had a new dress! More on that soon…

The only downside was that it was the same day as the premiere of season 2 of “Sherlock” on Masterpiece. Are you watching this show? You should be. Luckily, they have episodes online, so I could watch it yesterday.

But still all in all, a great day!

OK, enough reveling. Time to start preparing for Dance-O-Rama!

6 Responses to “Showcase!”

  1. Marsha May 8, 2012 at 9:43 am #

    I am SO SO glad things went well for you!!! Bravo my friend!

  2. loveablestef May 8, 2012 at 11:15 am #

    Congrats on your progress in the last 6 months, that is fantastic! glad things went so well for you. It’s such a great feeling when they do! Keep up the good work and I can’t wait to hear about this Dance-i-rama!

  3. Darlene May 8, 2012 at 9:09 pm #

    I, too, am preparing for Dance-O-Rama (but probably not the same one). I’m glad to hear that Showcase went so well for you. Keep dancing!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Prepping for Showcase « The Reinvented Lass - May 12, 2012

    […] getting ready for Showcase, I prepare the usual way. Improve this technique, learn that new step, change this thing in my […]

Have a comment? Let me know your thoughts!

