Games are dangerous

13 Apr

Although it’s easy to fall into the comparison game, it’s not a good idea to play that game.

Go read Riot and Frolic, in particular this post. Go ahead. Go read it. I’ll wait.

Oh, welcome back! When I read her blog, it would be very easy for me to feel bad about myself in comparison. I mean, I don’t workout everyday. It’s not easy for me to eat healthfully. I’m not married, I don’t have 3 kids, and I have a hard time keeping up with taking care of me.

But instead, I try to remember that no one knows the true story of anyone’s life. Even you, dear reader, with whom I share a fair amount of my inner workings, really don’t have a clue how those things appear in everyday life. Nor do you know what my brain actually thinks to myself in the moments.

So Miss Riot and Frolic may best me in workouts, managing day-to-day life, creativity. But she may not every single day. There are probably some days that I am doing better. But it really doesn’t matter. In the end, it’s not how my life compares to her. It’s about how my life compares with what I want it to be. And it’s about how happy I am.

So don’t compare your life to mine or anyone else’s. You never know what’s going on behind the scenes. You only know YOUR behind-the-scenes. Just remember this quote:

I’ve been thinking about all this because it’s easy for me to get down on my life when I’m working through issues. It starts as a comparison game and then turns into a pity party. I’ve been trying to talk myself out of the comparison game and not letting it get to me. So far, I’m doing OK with it. But it’s a struggle.

5 Responses to “Games are dangerous”

  1. momentsofmezz April 14, 2012 at 12:47 am #

    Awesome post! I love love love LOVE those words: “It’s about how my life compares with what I want it to be. And it’s about how happy I am.” That is SO true and I completely agree! I’ve had problems all my life with comparing myself to others, so this post really hit it on the head for me.

    Thank you, very much. (:

    • The Reinvented Lass April 14, 2012 at 9:09 am #

      Oh, I’m glad I can help! It’s definitely hard to remember it, but it does help, right?

  2. Jen Bushmaker April 16, 2012 at 6:15 pm #

    Love the thoughts!! So true! I really enjoy reading your blog girl…I think you sum up alot of what I am always thinking also…we really need to get together soon…I have 2 weeks off in May…how about a dinner in there sometime and we can hang out in the cities?!?

    Jen 🙂

    • The Reinvented Lass April 16, 2012 at 10:47 pm #

      Jen, I’d love to see you when you’re in town!! Let’s do it! Cathy xoxo

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Weekly roundup « The Reinvented Lass - April 16, 2012

    […] myself that the comparison game can be dangerous, and the important comparison is my life to what I want it to […]

Have a comment? Let me know your thoughts!

