Rain, rain go away!

7 Apr

It’s cold and rainy here in Minnesota today.

Grey skies, 47 degrees, rainy…good sleeping weather. Seriously, it makes me want to curl up in a blanket and either read or watch movies.

I actually had a pretty busy day planned. Appointments in the morning, meeting friend KB for coffee, then maybe the gym, work at the part-time job a bit, maybe take some pictures, dance lesson, home. A long day, but a pretty good one.

Except that it all got screwed up. My appointments were fine, but one was at 8am which meant getting up at 6:30. Gross. Then KB had to postpone til next weekend – totally understandable but still disappointing. The weather…oof, that killed any motivation for the gym I had. So I went to the noon dance class instead. Which was fine. I hadn’t been in a while. I brought my laptop so I could work on my part-time job stuff at a coffee shop, but I forgot the paper I needed to refer to to do that. So after the dance class, I went across the street to my favorite little bistro/coffee shop and had lunch. Now I’m here, killing time until my lesson, and updating you all on the fascinating events that are my life.

All I really want to do is take a nap. But that means schlepping back to my parents, napping for about 30 minutes, and then schlepping back to St Paul. No energy for that today – plus who wants to spend gas money on that? So here I am.

Probably none of this would bother me if I weren’t so tired and sad. I feel a weight on me today, and it’s really hard to overcome it in weather like this. I’m trying to push through it and not give in to it. I am going to see JF tonight for a drink, which will be awesome. That should help me somewhat. It also doesn’t help that my contacts are so dry today, I can hardly see out of them. So I need to get some saline and rinse them.

Ugh, I need to cheer up. Which begs the question: What do you do to cheer yourself up? Sigh. I need to figure out the little (and cheap!) things I can do to help myself feel better. I think right now, the best thing is to not wallow. So I think I’ll do the crossword instead to get my mind off the rain and the dreariness.

6 Responses to “Rain, rain go away!”

  1. Booksphotographsandartwork April 7, 2012 at 2:53 pm #

    To cheer myself up I eat ice cream or chocolate. Find something bright and orange to look at for awhile. That might help.

  2. Nikki April 7, 2012 at 7:27 pm #

    This is where video games come in handy. Sad? Shoot zombies! Angry? Shoot more zombies! Feeling unproductive? Play the Sims and become SUPER productive over many lifetimes! Happy and just want something to do? Lots of puzzle games or RPGs! Specifically Japanese RPGs because of the cuteness factor. And Mario!

    Other than that, a nice hot shower with my Pandora in the background, or drawing. If I’m really feeling out of it, I write stories. Intros to novel-intended stories that never get finished. Kinda lets me become someone else for a while, in a way.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Lazy Sunday « The Reinvented Lass - April 8, 2012

    […] still have traces of my feelings from yesterday, but for the most part, I’m feeling pretty good. I also met JF for cocktails last night, but […]

  2. Weekly roundup « The Reinvented Lass - April 10, 2012

    […] a rainy day in Minnesota that was bringing me […]

  3. Comfort in the Rain | Haven't We Done This Before? - April 28, 2012

    […] Rain, rain go away! (thereinventedlass.wordpress.com) […]

Have a comment? Let me know your thoughts!

