Am I special?

22 Mar

Do you remember this post about how and whether I matter?

I got over that for the most part, and I have some awesome friends who told me (and continue to show me) how much I matter to them and to others. Lately, though, I’ve been struggling in the thinky place about what makes me special.

I don’t know why this is important to me, but I need to feel that I have something that makes me special. To most people, the fact that I dance makes me special, because most people don’t do ballroom dance. But within the dance world, what makes me special? Not sure what.

But why does that matter so much to me? Why is it so important that I feel and can identify something that makes me special in dancing? I can articulate some things, but I don’t know if I really believe them.

SIGH. Sometimes I get so tired of my brain constantly going. STOP. Just…stop. SHUT UP, brain. Get out of my way and let me feel and believe.

If only it were that easy.

OK, that always makes me chuckle.

One Response to “Am I special?”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Weekly roundup « The Reinvented Lass - March 26, 2012

    […] *Wondered in what way I’m special. […]

Have a comment? Let me know your thoughts!

