Time to date again?

18 Mar

I had two separate friends, unrelated to each other in my life, on two separate occasions ask me this weekend if I was dating anyone.

The answer to that is no, I’m not.

And actually, I’m fine with that. I have learned how to be happy single, and I don’t feel the need to have a relationship to feel like my life is happy. That being said, I do sometimes miss being in a relationship.

My divorce was quite amicable – I think we realized that we were not good at being spouses to each other and couldn’t make each other happy. We tried, and we did counseling, but in the end, we did what was best for each of us and split up.

After my divorce, I was involved with a really wonderful man who had some issues. I call him Mr Big.

(That’s the real Mr Big, not my Mr Big. Just in case you were confused.)

We were great together. We were best friends. But his issues just got in the way, and I reached a point where it wasn’t healthy or good for me to stay. So we ended things. That was almost 3 years ago, and I probably just got over him last fall.

So I tried online dating. It wasn’t spectacular for me. I think it’s really hard for me to get to know people and date them that way. Plus, I kinda suck at first dates anyway, and I don’t think I’ve ever been involved with someone who I wasn’t friends with first. So it’s tough.

But having my friends ask about my dating life this weekend made me think about it. I think I would like to be dating someone. But meeting single normal men in my age range is really difficult. Especially when you spend most of your free time at a ballroom dance studio.

Side note: Guys, wanna meet some great women and have really a good men-to-women ratio? Take ballroom dance lessons.

So I guess my question is how do you meet men if you’re not doing the online thing? Maybe it’s time for me to pay some attention this – at least, it seems like the universe is telling me to do so.

Because I do miss that. The being with someone. The knowing that there is one person out there to whom you mean the world. The love between you and someone.

(Didn’t you LOVE it when Mr Big showed up in Paris? And when he was FINALLY able to tell Carrie she was the one? I cried. I still cry, every time I see it.)

My Mr Big broke my heart, even though it was my decision to leave. And that took a long time to get over. But I think I’m ready to try again and risk it one more time.

Now I just need to figure out where to meet guys my age.

4 Responses to “Time to date again?”

  1. Marsha March 19, 2012 at 7:22 am #

    As a 30 year veteran of my own marriage, I can tell you it’s great to have a good partner. And easier to grow old with a friend. I can also tell you no one can ever be responsible for the happiness of another person. That is a personal task. Period. If you jump in again, good luck to you. You are a lovely person. I bet you can find another lovely person to partner with in the dance of life. (GGGAAAAKKK!!!!) :o)

    • The Reinvented Lass March 19, 2012 at 8:08 am #

      I’m going to ignore the pun for now. 🙂 But you’re right, totally. I was married to someone who wasn’t my best friend, and it does make all the difference. Thanks for the warm thoughts! (30 years – that’s impressive! Congrats!!)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Weekly roundup « The Reinvented Lass - March 19, 2012

    […] if the universe was telling me to start dating again and if so, how do you meet […]

  2. I’m out of the pool | The Reinvented Lass - March 4, 2013

    […] while ago, I talked about jumping back into the dating pool. At least more proactively. I went back to online dating, just to see if I could find someone there […]

Have a comment? Let me know your thoughts!

