Happy St Patrick’s Day!

17 Mar

As it’s 10pm on St Patrick’s Day, you’ve probably guessed by now that I’m not out celebrating. And I am almost 100% Irish. Maybe I’m old, but the idea of going to a loud, crowded bar full of people completely drunk off their asses and trying to find sober rides home just is not appealing. Ideally, I’d be home with a whiskey – either a Bushmill’s or a Jameson’s – in my hand. But alas, I live in a dry house, so no whiskey for me tonight. Sadness.

A few of my favorite Irish sayings:

“As you slide down the banister of life, may the splinters never point in the wrong direction.”

“May you never forget what is worth remembering, nor ever remember what is best forgotten.”

“May the best day of your past be the worst day of your future.”

“May the roof above us never fall in, and may we friends beneath it never fall out.”

“May those who love us, love us; and those who don’t love us, may God turn their hearts; and if He doesn’t turn their hearts, may he turn their ankles so we’ll know them by their limping.”

And my personal favorite…

Lá fhéile pádraig sona duit! And beannachtaí na féile pádraig ort! (Happy St Patrick’s Day! And St Patrick’s blessings on you!)

No I don’t speak Irish. But Google does.

 

3 Responses to “Happy St Patrick’s Day!”

  1. dramaqueenseams March 18, 2012 at 1:03 pm #

    I’m not one who likes loud obnoxious people either… Me I would rather stay at home and watch a chick flick…

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Weekly roundup « The Reinvented Lass - March 19, 2012

    […] St Patrick’s day at home – which was just fine with me. That post has some of my favorite Irish sayings, […]

Have a comment? Let me know your thoughts!

