On the road out of the thinky place

23 Feb

The last few days have really helped get me out of thinky place.

I realized that to a certain extent, if you think it’s going to suck, it’s going to suck. So when I went to the studio on Tuesday, I tried to pretend it was all great. And it really does help. Then yesterday, I had a lesson that went well. Still some thinkyness that got in the way, but way better than it has been.

I had a long conversation afterwards with my teacher about the thinky place and what things I think have been affecting my dancing. It was a great conversation, and I think it helped some.

On Monday, it occurred to me that maybe I just needed a lesson to just dance through everything to prove to myself I’m a good dancer. I’ve done that once before, and it helped. So I scheduled a lesson for today for that. Beforehand, my teacher told me that he had been thinking about our conversation. From his perspective, another thing that was missing and was playing into the thinkyness was that I’ve been thinking about technique and doing things right, and I haven’t taken time to just be in the dance. So today we danced through all the open freestyles and didn’t think about technique. I just thought about the character of each dance and the music. My teacher says I do this when I perform, and that’s part of what makes my performances so good.

And you know what? He was right. My dancing today was so much better. I really tried to treat it like a performance and just have fun and enjoy it. I think I’ve been working so hard on my technique and making progress, I’ve forgotten to just let the joy in. Just be. Just dance and let it wash over me.

So my lesson today proved to me (again) that I am a good dancer. And it showed me how important that being in the moment is. And just letting the joy I get from dancing go through me.

Then I got to have dinner with my friend MM. She is so freakin’ awesome, I can’t stand it. We have some similarities in that we’re both Irish. And we just click. We laughed so much tonight, which made me feel so good. I needed that kind of laughter with a friend. I hadn’t seen her in a while, although we do play Scrabble on Facebook. It was good to reconnect. She’s a great person to hang out with. Plus she likes to read and drink and watch Masterpiece – not all at the same time of course.

After dinner, I went back to the studio for the practice party. I tried to one, just say thanks when I got a compliment (instead of discounting it) and two, just enjoy dancing even if I made a mistake. And I had so much fun. (Oh and I’ve worked out twice this week!)

So I feel like I’ve made a lot of progress on getting out of the thinky place. I’m sure I’ll revisit it soon, because I am who I am. But I can try to make it a short visit. For now, I’m going to try and continue to just be positive and enjoy dancing again. I mean, it is the thing in life that gives me the most joy. So how could I not be letting that joy in?

Oh how far I’ve come in the last few days! Here’s hoping I continue on the road out of the thinky place.

5 Responses to “On the road out of the thinky place”

  1. Marsha February 24, 2012 at 7:22 am #

    Good conclusion my friend. There’s a charater on a TV series I like, who is always the butt of jokes and derision, and yet he it unendingly cheerful. He is asked about that by a friend, and he explains that he saw a bumper sticker one day that said “Choose Happy.” He realized it was that simple and had done so ever since. Thoughts have so much power and words have even more. But you are in charge of what goes on inside and what slips out as well. ((hugs)) -Marsha

    • The Reinvented Lass February 24, 2012 at 7:46 am #

      Thanks Marsha! I often forget that – that I can choose to not let things get to me and go thinky. The lesson yesterday really helped drive that point home to me. *hugs*

  2. GrowthLines... March 22, 2012 at 12:34 pm #

    Guess you just danced your way right out of the thinky place. Awesome! We do have the capacity to “act our way into a new way of feeling”. It’s just easier some times than others. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Follow up to yesterday « The Reinvented Lass - February 24, 2012

    […] I had pinned earlier, and I found my board of quotes. There were a few that made me think about yesterday’s post on getting out of the thinky […]

  2. Weekly roundup « The Reinvented Lass - February 27, 2012

    […] *Made great progress getting out of the thinky place. […]

Have a comment? Let me know your thoughts!

