I yodeled

14 Feb

Not THAT kind of yodel!

Remember me telling you about Riot and Frolic? I love this blog. I’ve gotten to know her a bit over the interwebs recently. She posted on her blog a while ago about hosting an evening for people to gather, eat, drink, and knit/crochet/whatever craft you wanted to do. I wanted to go but wasn’t sure I should crash this party, even though she opened it up to all her blog readers.

The YODEL event was yesterday. (Yodel = yarn over, drink, eat…legit. Get it?) I still wasn’t entirely sure if I would go. I mean, me….miss still-have-a-bit-of-leftover-social-anxiety-and-have-a-hard-time-in-a-group-where-I-don’t-know-a-ton-of-people? Walk into a gathering of a bunch of women I don’t know and say, “hi, I’m Cathy, nice to meet you”?

But I really wanted to meet these women! And the fact that I was even contemplating it shows how far I’ve come. So…after work, I went to the gym for a quick workout. (Yay me!) And then…yep, I drove over the West 7th to the coffeehouse where the YODEL event was being held.

I walked into the coffeehouse. Very cute and charming. Check it out if you get a chance. The group was meeting in the basement, so I still had time to chicken out. I ordered my coffee and scone, took a deep breath, and walked downstairs. With some trepidation, I must admit.

And I found a great group of women. There were only two when I got there, one of whom was Miss Riot and Frolic. Eventually three other women showed up. We ate, drank, and knitted/crocheted. They made me feel welcomed (they all knew each other already), and I had a great time.

I’m so glad I went! Partially because I met some fun ladies, and partially because it was another chance to leave my comfort zone and branch out to do something new. I hope they include me for the next outing – I’m looking forward to getting to know these women more!

One Response to “I yodeled”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Weekly roundup « The Reinvented Lass - February 20, 2012

    […] *Met some very fun ladies at a gathering to eat, drink, and knit/crochet. I’m looking forward to seeing them again! […]

Have a comment? Let me know your thoughts!

