Weekly roundup

6 Feb

Last week, I…

*Wondered if I’d be able to bribe myself into going to the gym more if I had a reward for myself.

*Had my annual check-up at the dermatologist.

*Was nominated for the ABC Award.

*Had three dance lessons: one pretty good, one where I got angry and frustrated with my teacher because I felt like I wasn’t being heard (we got through it – turns out we were just communicating at each other and not on the same wavelength) and one awesome one.

*Completely spaced on an appointment with friend AW. So unlike me. I hate it when I do that. But it shows you my mental state on Thursday. But I was able to go on Friday – whew.

*Got a pedicure on Saturday for my dance performance.

*Tried the sock curls as described by my friend at Riot and Frolic. Hers looked like this:

Photo courtesy of Riot and Frolic

Mine looked like a rats’ nest and not so good:

Oh well. My hair is just too thick to do this.

*Made awesome potato chip cookies.

*Learned about fake eyelashes for the first time. I did a few practice runs but was a bit concerned (read: nervous and a bit stressed) about doing it myself for my dance performance without more practice runs. AM suggested having my hair stylist do it. She couldn’t but I copped out and had another stylist do it. Good thing – I learned some tricks from her.

*Further simplified my life by going through my closet and listing a stack of clothes on Ebay.

*Performed at Super Saturday. I was worried about the last one. And this one? GREAT! I was very happy with my performance. I did the bolero for the first time – went really well. I did my tango open – went great (and I got to wear my dress again!) And I did my rumba open – which was the best we’ve ever done that one. Woo hoo!!!

4 Responses to “Weekly roundup”

  1. GrowthLines... February 6, 2012 at 5:33 pm #

    Sounds like a productive week, and the dancing sounds like a lot of fun.

  2. dramaqueenseams February 8, 2012 at 1:55 pm #

    I have super thick hair to and I use the sock bun trick all the time. It works great. I wash my hair at night and let it air dry for a few then lather it up with curl gel. Then wrap it up in the sock bun. Take it down in the morning. Super easy. Might try it and see if it works better for you…

    Jeanna

    • The Reinvented Lass February 8, 2012 at 8:21 pm #

      I should try that!

    • The Reinvented Lass February 9, 2012 at 8:19 am #

      Are you talking about the one where you actually roll your hair around the sock bun? I’ve never been able to figure that one out. Maybe you could do a blog post on it to teach me? 🙂

Have a comment? Let me know your thoughts!

