Can I be bribed?

31 Jan

I wonder if I can bribe myself.

My stupid bronchitis has prevented me from working out much this month. But let’s be honest – getting to the gym has never been my strong suit. I sabotage myself all the time. I know I should go; I just really struggle to take care of myself. So I wonder if I can trick myself somehow.

A friend of mine is super strict with his eating. He eats really well six days a week. If he sticks to his eating, on the seventh day he rests. Just kidding. On the seventh day (Fridays), he eats whatever he wants. That’s his reward.

I was reading a blog today where the writer wants to run four times a week, and she’s set up weekly rewards for herself if she does it. That motivates her to get up and run.

I know lots of people who set their clocks ahead so they trick themselves into thinking it’s earlier than it is, so they’re never late. (Wow, that was quite the run-on sentence. Yikes. Can you tell it’s late at night?) That never works for me because I look at the clock and say, the clock says 6:00 but it’s 15 minutes ahead so it’s really 5:45. (Yes, I really get up that early. Actually I get up at 5:30 but who’s counting.)

So would it work to set up rewards for myself? If I look at my calendar each week and figure out when I have time to go to the gym, would I actually then go if I knew I was getting a reward for it? What kind of reward would make that worthwhile?

As I’m trying to save money, maybe a good reward would be something I want to buy but wouldn’t because of the cost. And I don’t think I’d need to reward myself long-term; I think it would just be a way to try and get my ass to the gym and get in the habit.

The gym isn’t going to happen this week, due to my part-time job and dance. (Super Saturday is Saturday!) But next week, I could go Monday, Thursday, Saturday and possibly Wednesday. So if I make 3 out of the 4 days next week, what should be my reward? It could be something simple, like a solo pizza from Davannis. Or it could be a bit bigger like a book. Or yarn! Or maybe I do one of those the first week, another the second, and the last the third week to really try and build the habit.

Hmm. Think it could work?

10 Responses to “Can I be bribed?”

  1. Kate February 1, 2012 at 1:17 am #

    It’ll totally work! 😉

    • The Reinvented Lass February 1, 2012 at 7:28 am #

      I don’t know…it hasn’t in the past. But I have to try SOMETHING! 🙂

  2. Danielle February 1, 2012 at 8:15 am #

    Or you could put 15 dollars away each week. if you don’t meet your goal you have to start over. By week three, you’ll have $45 dollars. Or maybe start at $20. That seems like good motivation.

  3. Shara February 1, 2012 at 9:24 am #

    On the subject of buying yourself a book as a reward, I suggest going to half-priced books. Then you can get yourself a nice reward, and you have the added bonus of getting something for less, which also makes you feel good 🙂

  4. GrowthLines... February 1, 2012 at 7:53 pm #

    I can definitely identify with setting the clock ahead and then allowing myself that same amount of delay time. I’m not sure why I bother. Maybe it gives me the illusion of being on top of things. 🙂

    • The Reinvented Lass February 2, 2012 at 11:07 am #

      See? It never works for me either. I don’t even try that anymore. I can’t lie to myself like that. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Weekly roundup « The Reinvented Lass - February 6, 2012

    […] if I’d be able to bribe myself into going to the gym more if I had a reward for […]

  2. Can you help me? « The Reinvented Lass - May 9, 2012

    […] Do I just need to be accountable to people about what I’m eating and when I’m working out? Do I try to bribe myself? […]

Have a comment? Let me know your thoughts!

