Beginning to simplify my life

16 Jan

I was really confused on what simplifying life meant.

I’ve been thinking about it a lot lately. I asked my friend Brittany at the Gentle Home to write a guest post on it, because she’s been doing this for a long time. Her posts (she actually did two for me, part I and part II) really helped me define it, at least for my life.

To start, I need to focus on my space. Decluttering it. Going through stuff, especially clothes, and purging what I don’t use and don’t need. I started this today by sorting through all the clutter in my room, throwing some stuff and finding a place for the rest. Because most of my stuff is in storage, I don’t have a lot of stuff to go through. But the stuff that I do have here needs some attention. My books are in random piles in the basement. My craft stuff is in bags and different bins in the basement. Because I’ve lost some weight recently, I need to either alter some clothes or donate them.

I need to focus on me again in terms of my physical health. I need to get my cholesterol checked. (I’ve been meaning to do that since August.) I need to – SIGH – get my first mammogram now that I’ve turned 40. I need to work out. And I need to refocus on my eating again.

I mentioned before about my money struggles and how I want to learn to stay totally within budget every month. Doing that will also simplify my life.

I’d like to focus on my spiritual life too. While I haven’t found a church to join yet, I can still pray and read the Bible and try to connect with God that way.

I also realized that part of simplifying life should be really using every moment wisely. To that end, I need to not use the TV for background noise. I do it less than I used to – a lot less – but I would like to not use it unless I had something I really wanted to watch like “Masterpiece” or “The Big Bang Theory”. (Have you been watching “Downton Abbey”? You should. This season is another great one.)

I think I’m coming to the conclusion that a simple life for me means one free of clutter – physical, mental, financial, spiritual. So I will try to work towards that. Do you think I’m on the right track?

4 Responses to “Beginning to simplify my life”

  1. thegentlehome January 16, 2012 at 9:34 pm #

    Thanks again for letting me write the guest posts! I enjoyed it so much! It sounds like you are definitely on the right track 🙂 And I’m glad you are getting over the bronchitis!

  2. GrowthLines... January 16, 2012 at 11:14 pm #

    I am pleased to pass along The Candle Lighter Award to The Reinvented Lass. You can read about the award and meet the other nominees at:

    growthlines.wordpress.com/

    Thanks for being a part of the blogging community!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Weekly roundup « The Reinvented Lass - January 30, 2012

    […] to think about simplifying life and what that […]

Have a comment? Let me know your thoughts!

