Simplify life…but how?

12 Jan

I’ve been thinking about simplifying life a lot lately.

But what does “a simple life” mean? If I can’t define it and get a picture of what that is in my head, how I can try for one?

Does it mean internally simple? Does it mean someone with calm, inner peace? If so, we all know I tend towards the thinky place at times, so does that automatically exclude me?

Maybe it’s externally simple. Maybe it’s your day-to-day life. OK. But I go to work, go to my part-time job, go dancing, go home and go to bed. In between those things and on weekends, I do the usual chores, try to see friends and spend time on my hobbies. So I’m constantly busy, but it’s a relatively simple existence. Am I leading a simple life?

Is it religion? If so, am I out because I have issues with organized religions and haven’t found one that works for me?

Or is it material things? Buying and living with less? I don’t buy a lot of stuff anymore, but am I supposed to get rid of some of my possessions now?

Does it mean a single focus on what’s truly important in your life? If so, I think that’s really easy to do if you have children. But what if you don’t have kids? What’s your single focus then?

Or is it a combination of all of these things?

I’m curious what others think this means and how they do it. To that end, I’ve asked a friend of mine who has really focused on this topic to write a guest blog. Watch for that soon! (I’m excited for it!) In the meantime, if you have any thoughts or ideas, I’d love to hear them!

4 Responses to “Simplify life…but how?”

  1. GrowthLines... January 16, 2012 at 8:23 pm #

    Maybe internally simple encourages externally simple, and vice versa. Maybe it’s just good to start somewhere, in or out, in a way that fits for the individual. I do have more clarity about myself and my life when I start decluttering.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Guest post: Thoughts on Living Simply Part I: Emptied…to be Filled « The Reinvented Lass - January 14, 2012

    […] post by Brittany from The Gentle Home (part one, watch for part two […]

  2. Beginning to simplify my life « The Reinvented Lass - January 16, 2012

    […] was really confused on what simplifying life […]

Have a comment? Let me know your thoughts!

