Stupid, frustrating cold

10 Jan

And although it’s January, I’m not talking about the weather. (Although I’m not a big fan of the 40s and 50s in January. It leaves me just waiting for the other shoe – a major blizzard – to drop, no pun intended.)

No, I’m talking about this stupid cold I have, and it’s really annoying and frustrating. It’s killed my energy level; I’m tired a lot.

I don’t have asthma at all in any way, except when I have a cold. And it’s not even asthma, it’s just that I get winded really easily when I have a cold. Even walking up a flight of stairs right now leaves me short of breath. So working out is really tough right now. Just when I get my motivation fixed after the holidays to go back and work out, I can’t. I mean, I can, but it’s a lame workout with not much benefit.

I have a nasty cough that gets worse the more I talk. So I have to try to get through the day without talking much, which is hard, and I have to take a lot of cough medicine and cough syrup to so I don’t sound like I’ve been smoking 4 packs a day for 20 years. Ugh.

So I’m just really frustrated right now. I want the cold to go away so I can work out, talk the normal amount, and have energy again. I’ve had this cold for over a week now, and I think it’s going to stick around for a while. Booo.

I know, first world problem, right? Still, there you are. I’m frustrated. And tired. And ready to be healthy so I can get back to focusing on improving me. I guess all in good time.

In the meantime, I’m going to take some Nyquil and go to bed.

3 Responses to “Stupid, frustrating cold”

  1. sarah On The Go January 11, 2012 at 11:58 am #

    Although I am a firm believer in Nyquil and sleep, my friend just recently introduced me to Emergen-C. I think I am late with this one, but I never thought to try it. I had the sniffles and a cough, I added Emergen-C to my water twice a day (not sure what the directions say) and I felt relief instantly.

    Maybe it was mental lol but granted I get another cold, Emergen-C (and Nyquil) it is! Feel better soon!!

    • The Reinvented Lass January 11, 2012 at 3:21 pm #

      I really hadn’t tried it either, I figured it was just a scam. 🙂 I’m probably too late to try it with this cough, but I will definitely keep it in mind for the next one!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Weekly roundup « The Reinvented Lass - January 16, 2012

    […] my cold all week. After friend JF (who’s a doctor) read that post and told me to go to the doctor, I […]

Have a comment? Let me know your thoughts!

