2011 in review

30 Dec

I saw this questionnaire on a blog I read “So It Goes.” I thought it was interesting and thought-provoking, so I thought I’d do it here as a review of my 2011. (By the way, if you haven’t read it, you should read that blog. She’s so inspiring. She’s in college and fights an eating disorder. She’s really amazing, check her out.)

1. What did you do in 2011 that you’d never done before?
Danced bolero. And online dating.

2. Did you keep your new years’ resolutions, and will you make more for next year?
Somewhat. I kept all of them to a certain extent, but not all of them all the time. I think I’m going to look at 2012 as a fresh start, not a time for resolutions.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?
Yes! My friend EF gave birth to her first child. A girl named Alison.

4. Did anyone close to you die?
My aunt (and godmother) Irene. She was my dad’s sister-in-law.

5. What countries did you visit?
Um, none.

6. What would you like to have in 2012 that you lacked in 2011?
Better progress on my issues.

7. What dates from 2011 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?
June 29 – the date that marked two years since I last talked to Mr Big.
July 31 – the date I started this blog.
September 20 – my 40th birthday.
December 6 – the date I started my new job.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?
Getting a new job that I love, managing my money better, and improving my dancing.

9. What was your biggest failure?
Letting the craziness and the thinky place win at times.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?
Just the usual headaches and colds. Nothing major, thank God.

11. What was the best thing you bought?
My dance dress!!

12. Whose behavior merited celebration?
What? Weird question.

13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?
Another odd question.

14. Where did most of your money go?
Dance.

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?
Dancing for the first time in my new dance dress.

16. What song will always remind you of 2011?
“Someone Like You” by Adele and “Pumped Up Kicks” by Foster the People.

17. Compared to this time last year, are you:
a) happier or sadder? Happier in general, sadder this particular week.
b) thinner or fatter? Thinner
c) richer or poorer? The same

18. What do you wish you’d done more of?
Going out with friends. And having an occasional cocktail.

19. What do you wish you’d done less of?
Worrying and spending time in the thinky place.

20. How will you be spending New Year’s?
With friends.

21. Did you fall in love in 2011?
No.

22. How many one-night stands?
None.

23. What was your favourite TV program?
The Big Bang Theory, Dancing with the Stars, How I Met Your Mother, and Masterpiece.

24. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?
No, I don’t hate people.

25. What was the best book you read?
Shoe Addicts Anonymous and Team of Rivals

26. What was your greatest musical discovery?
Nothing in particular, just the general new music that the Current plays.

27. What did you want and get?
My dance dress and more dancing.

28. What did you want and not get?
More money. And true love.

29. What was your favourite film of this year?
Super 8.

30. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?
I turned 40! I spent the night at the dance studio, dancing with my friends.

31. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?
Hmm, not exactly sure. Overall it was a pretty good year. Maybe exercise more?

32. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2011?
Oh that’s a tough one. Hmmm. Pretty classic, I think.

33. What kept you sane?
Writing, knitting, baking, dancing, reading.

34. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?
Not sure.

35. What political issue stirred you the most?
I don’t really get involved in politics. Gay marriage is one issue that kinda stirred me. (I’m all for it, by the way.)

36. Who did you miss?
Mr Big.

37. Who was the best new person you met?
Hmmm. In person? Not sure if I met anyone new. At work, through my new job, I met my new boss who is smart and who I’ll learn a lot from. On the interwebs, probably Terra at Arthur Murray Woodland Hills.

38. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2011.
Oh wow, far too many to mention in one little post!

39. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year:
I can’t really think of one particular song that sums up 2011 for me.

One Response to “2011 in review”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Weekly roundup « The Reinvented Lass - January 3, 2012

    […] *Recapped my year. […]

Have a comment? Let me know your thoughts!

